Mwende Mbae

It­sama­maz­world founder, en­tre­pre­neur

The Star (Kenya) - - Sasa Living -

It­sama­maz­world is an or­gan­i­sa­tion that sup­ports young par­ents. Through shared sto­ries and ex­pe­ri­ences, IMW in­spires, heals and re­stores the lives of the grow­ing num­ber of young par­ents to en­sure they do not give up on them­selves or on the life they are bring­ing forth.

“We em­power them to keep chas­ing their big dreams, to give them the sup­port they need to be the great par­ents we be­lieve they al­ready are through men­tor­ship and guid­ance,” says Mbae, who runs a blog and YouTube chan­nel by the same name.

6AM: I have my morn­ing de­vo­tion (once upon a time, this hap­pened at 5am). I pre­pare break­fast for my two-year-old daugh­ter while show­er­ing. I place the uji (which usu­ally takes 15 min­utes to get ready) on the stove. Once it starts to sim­mer, I run and take my shower, and I’m out the shower be­fore I burn down the house. I dress as the por­ridge cools.

7AM: I pack her school­bag, then wake her up, give her a shower, get her dressed and give her break­fast.

7.45AM: I do all other last-minute prepa­ra­tions, pack my own bag, grab a quick bite, leave the house by 8am and drop her off at school by 9am.

9.30AM – 12.00: I re­spond to emails, check my so­cial me­dia ac­counts. I just signed up for gym, so I start my work­outs be­tween 9.30 and 11.30am.

12.15PM: Pick-up time for my daugh­ter. I drop her back home where she takes a nap.

1PM-5PM: I have my lunch, dash off to any sched­uled meet­ings, then pro­ceed to evening classes.

9.30PM: I get back home around this time. If I ar­rive ear­lier, I put my lit­tle one to sleep.

Our bed­time rou­tine: I’ll do her hair, read her a Bible story, then sing her a song. We say a prayer then she will try and con­vince me sev­er­ally that she needs to go to the bath­room. Af­ter a lot of cry­ing and tantrums, she fi­nally gives in.

I have some time to my­self, catch up on some chats, fi­nalise pend­ing work, pray, then sleep.

If I’m edit­ing any video, I will do it right be­fore I sleep, but this usu­ally would keep me up un­til 3am or 4am.

On Thurs­day evenings, I have Bible Study in my neigh­bour­hood from 5-8.30pm.

WEEK­ENDS On Sun­days, I at­tend the 11am ser­vice at Karen Vine­yard Church, then spend time with fam­ily or or­gan­ise a play date with a friend.

Though on some spe­cial Sun­days, on a monthly ba­sis, I meet my small group of mums, where we just talk, get to know each other share our ex­pe­ri­ences, give sup­port and laugh. Any mom is wel­come to at­tend.

I’M CUR­RENTLY READ­ING: ‘THE PUR­POSE-DRIVEN LIFE’, WHICH I READ IN THE MORN­ING

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Kenya

© PressReader. All rights reserved.