The Star (Kenya) - - Politics Presidency -

The Com­mis­sion acts as the ex­ec­u­tive or ad­min­is­tra­tive branch of the AU. Its head­quar­ters is in Ad­dis Ababa, Ethiopia. The cur­rent chair­per­son is South Africa’s Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, who was elected for a four-year term in 2012. The term is re­new­able. The polls were held on July 18 this year dur­ing the 27th Or­di­nary Ses­sion of the African Union Assem­bly of Heads of State and Govern­ment meet­ing in Ki­gali, Rwanda. The elec­tions had at­tracted three can­di­dates—Botswana’s for­eign af­fairs min­is­ter Pelonomi Ven­son-Moitoi, Uganda’s for­mer Vice Pres­i­dent Specioza Kaz­ibwe and Equa­to­rial Guinea’s Agapito Mba Mokuy. None of the can­di­dates gar­nered two-thirds of the votes to win. The elec­tions were post­poned to Jan­uary next year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Kenya

© PressReader. All rights reserved.