Six lawyers and judge ap­ply for IEBC top post

Se­lec­tion panel re­ceives 778 ap­pli­ca­tions for elec­toral body po­si­tions, says process will take longer than ex­pected

The Star (Kenya) - - Front Page - OLIVER MATHENGE @Oliv­erMa­thenge

Six lawyers and a judge are among 13 ap­pli­cants to chair the In­de­pen­dent Elec­toral and Bound­aries Com­mis­sion to pre­pare for and over­see the 2017 elec­tion.

The IEBC Se­lec­tion Com­mit­tee yes­ter­day also re­leased a list of 765 peo­ple who have ap­plied for the six com­mis­sion­ers’ posts.

“As a re­sult of the un­prece­dented num­ber of ap­pli­ca­tions re­ceived, the con­sol­i­da­tion of all ap­pli­ca­tions has taken a con­sid­er­ably longer time than an­tic­i­pated ,” com­mit­tee chair­per­son Ber­nadette Musundi said.

“Upon the con­clu­sion of the con­sol­i­da­tion and col­la­tion of the ap­pli­ca­tions re­ceived, the Se­lec­tion Panel shall pub­lish the names of all ap­pli­cants and their qual­i­fi­ca­tions in the Gazette, in two news­pa­pers of na­tional cir­cu­la­tion and on the web­site of the Par­lia­men­tary Ser­vice Com­mis­sion,” Musundi said.

Two names will be sub­mit­ted to the Pres­i­dent, who will nom­i­nate one as chair­man. He will re­ceive nine names and nom­i­nate six com­mis­sion­ers. High court judge Jus­tice An­yara Emukule, set to re­tire from the Ju­di­ciary in De­cem­ber, is among those who have ap­plied to re­place Is­sack Has­san as IEBC boss.

Lawyer Mu­takha Kangu, re­ported to have been part of Cord leader Raila Odinga’s kitchen cabi­net in 2013, also ap­plied for the top job.

Kangu chaired the Task Force on De­volved Gov­ern­ment that drafted the laws to en­act de­vo­lu­tion af­ter the new Con­sti­tu­tion was en­acted in 2010.

Lawyer Rose­line Od­ede, who was the vice chair of the Judges and Mag­is­trates Vet­ting Board, is also in the race to chair the IEBC.

For­mer com­mis­sioner with the Truth Jus­tice and Rec­on­cil­i­a­tion Com­mis­sion Mar­garet Shava is the other lawyer seek­ing the po­si­tion. Shava sought to be­come chair of the Ethics and Anti-Cor­rup­tion Com­mis­sion last year but the po­si­tion went to Philip Kin­isu.

An­drew Franklin, a for­mer US Ma- rine-turned-se­cu­rity con­sul­tant; David Malak­wen, a for­mer Kenya Com­mer­cial Bank Com­pany sec­re­tary; and Ka­ji­ado County Ser­vice Board Chair­man Ten­temo Ole Moy­aki have also ap­plied for chair­man­ship.

Oth­ers are ac­coun­tants Joshua Kamwere, Michael Mugo, Vin­cent Opar, Mu­soma Munubi and lawyers David Mereka and Mur­shid Ab­dalla.

Ab­dalla had been in­ter­viewed for the post in 2011 when Is­sack Has­san was ap­pointed.

Seven for­mer am­bas­sadors and two IEBC di­rec­tors are among the 765 ap­pli­cants in the race for the six po­si­tions of IEBC mem­bers.

For­mer In­dus­tral­i­sa­tion PS Phillip Owade, for­mer am­bas­sador to Rus­sia Paul Kibi­wott Kur­gat and for­mer

Per­ma­nent Rep­re­sen­ta­tive of Kenya to the UN Of­fice in Geneva and the World Trade Or­ga­ni­za­tion John Kakonga are among the seven for­mer en­voys.

Oth­ers are for­mer am­bas­sador to Bu­rundi Ben­jamin Mw­eri, for­mer am­bas­sador to Egypt Daniel Makd­wallo and for­mer am­bas­sador to Nige­ria David Mutemi.

IEBC’s direc­tor for Voter Reg­is­tra­tion and Elec­toral Af­fairs Im­mac­u­late Kas­sait and for­mer IEBC direc­tor of ICT Dis­mas On­gondi are the two in­sid­ers who want to be com­mis­sion­ers.

Trans­parency In­ter­na­tional-Kenya Ex­ec­u­tive Direc­tor Sa­muel Kimeu, for­mer In­de­pen­dent Polic­ing Over­sight Author­ity board mem­ber Tom Kagwe, ra­dio jour­nal­ist and Ka­ji­ado County Gov­ern­ment Me­dia Re­la­tions Of­fi­cer Lil­ian Lelei have ap­plied.

Oth­ers in­clude lawyer Soyinka Lem­paa, hu­man rights ac­tivist Cyprian Nyamwamu, com­mis­sioner of In­sur­ance Sammy Makove and Wil­son Songa, the for­mer De­vo­lu­tion sec­re­tary.

Also on the list are Na­tional Coun­cil of Churches of Kenya mem­ber Dr Julius Karanja and for­mer Na­tional Anti-Cor­rup­tion Steer­ing Com­mit­tee direc­tor Poly­carp Omolo Ochilo and (de­funct) Com­mis­sion for the Im­ple­men­ta­tion of the Con­sti­tu­tion com­mis­sioner Phile­mon Mwaisaka Wawaka.

The IEBC Se­lec­tion Com­mit­tee said it that next Wed­nes­day it will pub­lish the names of the ap­pli­cants who met Tues­day’s dead­line.

Musundi added that af­ter the pub- li­ca­tion of the ap­pli­cants’ names and qual­i­fi­ca­tions, they will short­list the can­di­dates.

“The Se­lec­tion Panel will there­after be­gin the short­list­ing ex­er­cise and pub­lish the short­list. This ad­ver­tise­ment will also in­vite the views of the pub­lic on the suit­abil­ity of short­listed can­di­dates for a pe­riod of seven days,” Musundi said.

This will be fol­lowed by pub­lic in­ter­view­ing of the can­di­dates, which will be broad­cast on live TV.

“Af­ter con­duct­ing in­ter­views, the se­lec­tion panel shall se­lect two per­sons qual­i­fied to be ap­pointed as chair­per­son and nine per­sons qual­i­fied to be ap­pointed as mem­bers of the com­mis­sion and shall for­ward the names to the Pres­i­dent for nom­i­na­tion of one per­son for ap­point­ment as the chair­per­son and six per­sons for ap­point­ment as mem­bers,” the law says.

Within seven days, the Pres­i­dent will for­ward the list of nom­i­nees to the Na­tional As­sem­bly for ap­proval in ac­cor­dance with the Pub­lic Ap­point­ments (Par­lia­men­tary Ap­proval) Act.

“The Pres­i­dent shall, within seven days of re­ceipt of the names ap­proved by the Na­tional As­sem­bly, by no­tice in the Gazette, ap­point the chair­per­son and the mem­bers,” the law states.

The re­cruit­ment of the new com­mis­sion­ers arose from the en­act­ment of amend­ments to the IEBC Act, which led to the res­ig­na­tion of the cur­rent ones.

This fol­lowed a ne­go­ti­ated process be­tween Ju­bilee and Cord af­ter the op­po­si­tion held protests to de­mand the re­moval of the com­mis­sion­ers.


IEBC pan­elist Ber­nadette Musundi


IEBC chair­man Is­sack Has­san, vice chair Lil­ian Mahiri Zaja, com­mis­sion­ers Thomas Le­tan­gule, Ab­dul­lahi Sharawe and Al­bert Ca­mus Onyango af­ter a meet­ing with the Na­tional As­sem­bly’s Jus­tice and Le­gal Af­fairs Com­mit­tee at the Na­tional As­sem­bly on May 18

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Kenya

© PressReader. All rights reserved.