The Star (Kenya) - - Counties -

The ASAL coun­ties ex­pe­ri­enc­ing drought and famine in­clude Garissa, Isi­olo, Kilifi, Ki­tui, Kwale, Makueni, Man­dera, Marsabit, Sam­buru, Taita Taveta, Tana River and Wa­jir. In Oc­to­ber, Na­tional As­sem­bly ma­jor­ity leader Aden Duale an­nounced that the gov­ern­ment would spend Sh2 bil­lion to cush­ion 1.3 mil­lion Kenyans from the drought. “The mil­i­tary, the NYS and wa­ter ser­vice boards will mo­bilise re­sources. We will have 80 wa­ter bowsers dis­patched.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Kenya

© PressReader. All rights reserved.