The king’s residence왕의거주공간
Heejeongdang was the king’s sleeping quarters.
This is the place where the king slept, read, took his meals, and met with his people personally.
침전은 왕이 잠을 자고, 책을 읽고, 밥을 먹고, 개인적으로 사람들을 만나던 곳이지요.
This building was also used as the king’s office.
이 곳은 또한 왕의 집무실로 사용되었지요.
Originally Seonjeongjen was the king’s office.
원래는 선정전이 왕의 집무실이었습니다.
However, it was too small and sometimes was used for funerals.
하지만 너무 작았고, 심지어 장례 용도로사용되기도했어요.
The original building, Heejeongdang burned down in 1917.
원래의희정당은 1917년에 불에타없어졌어요.
It was rebuilt with the material from Gangnyeongjeon which was dismantled from Gyeongbokgung Palace in 1920.
그후희정당은 1920년에 경복궁의강녕전을 해체하여 이 곳으로 옮겨 지었답 니다.
Isn’t it interesting how one building can be moved from one location to another?
This is one of the characteristics of traditional Korean buildings known as “Hanok.”
이것이 전통 건물인‘한옥’의 특징 중하나이지요.
This building has a mixture of traditional and westernized features.
There is even an entrance for the king’s car.
Heejeongdang’s entrance is very unique. It has a round entrance for the car.
희정당의 입구는 매우 독특한데, 차를위해입구를둥글게만들었어요.
There is a cafe in front of this building.
이 건물 앞에는 카페로 쓰이는 건물이있어요.
Originally, it was a place where high officials met before they met the king.
Later, it was used as a garage for Sunjong’s car, the last king.
His car was a custom-built Cadillac by General Motors imported from the USA.