Sen­a­tors to take oath

Lesotho Times - - News - Le­tuka Chafotsa

Sen­a­tors to the ninth Par­lia­ment are ex­pected to be sworn-in this morn­ing fol­low­ing tues­day’s spe­cial meet­ing of the 14-mem­ber Coun­cil of State, which is an ad­vi­sory to the King.

Le­sotho is a bi­cam­eral par­lia­men­tary sys­tem, with two leg­isla­tive bod­ies or cham­bers. The first of th­ese bod­ies is the House of Com­mons, which com­prises elected Mem­bers of Par­lia­ment (MPS) and Pro­por­tional Rep­re­sen­ta­tive of­fi­cials.

the sec­ond of th­ese bod­ies is the Se­nate, con­sti­tuted by 22 prin­ci­pal chiefs and 11 mem­bers nom­i­nated by the King, act­ing on the ad­vice of the Coun­cil of State.

While the Se­nate’s pow­ers ap­pear limited, the body is, how­ever very pow­er­ful as it can block leg­is­la­tion passed by the lower house or House of Com­mons.

the Le­sotho Times has since learnt that the fol­low­ing would be sworn-in as Sen­a­tors to­day: Prin­ci­pal Chief of Mokhot­long ,Mathealira Seeiso; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Malin­goa­neng, tu­mane Matela; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Butha-buthe, retšelisit­soe Mopeli; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Leribe, Joel Motšoene; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Peka, tsikoane and Kol­berg, Pon­tšo Mathealira; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Ma­mathe and thupa-kubu, Ma­jara S Ma­supha; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Ma­jara, ‘Mamo­lapo Ma­jara; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Kue­neng and Mapoteng, Peete L Peete; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Mat­sieng, Seeiso Bereng Seeiso; Prin­ci­pal Chief of thaba-bo­siu, Khoabane theko; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Maama, Ma­bela Maama, Prin­ci­pal Chief of ram­a­banta, Bereng S api; Prin­ci­pal Chief of rothe, Bereng M Bereng; Prin­ci­pal Chief of te­bang, theko Mo­jela; Prin­ci­pal Chief of ta­jane, thato Mohale; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Matelile, Mo­holo­bela Mo­holo­bela; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Likhoele, Lerotholi Seeiso; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Pha­mong, nthati Bereng; Prin­ci­pal Chief of taung , Moeketsi Moeketsi; Prin­ci­pal Chief of Quthing, Hla­bathe nkuebe; Prin­ci­pal Chief of ratšoleli and Mashai, Mo­jela theko; In­de­pen­dent Chief­sMakholu Moshoeshoe and Qa­jela Le­bona.

Ap­pointed Sen­a­tors: Dr ‘Molotsi Monya­mane, Dr ‘Mam­phono Khaketla, Mr Jere­mane ra­math­e­bane, Mr thabiso Litšiba, Mr Joshua Setipa, Mr Le­bo­hang thotanyane, Mr tšeliso Mokhosi, Mr tha­bang Kholumo, Ms Moipone Piet.

BBDP Leader Jere­mane Ra­math­e­bane.

DR ‘Mam­phono Khaketla

DR Molotsi Monya­mane

Le­bo­hang Thotanyane

Joshua setipa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Lesotho

© PressReader. All rights reserved.