Chelsea dom­i­nate PFA team

Lesotho Times - - Sport -

LON­DON — Chelsea dom­i­nated the team of the year an­nounced on Sun­day by Pro­fes­sional Foot­ballers’ As­so­ci­a­tion, with six play­ers from the Pre­mier League cham­pi­ons-elect in the side voted for by their fel­low pros in Eng­land. Jose Mour­inho’s side, who drew 0-0 with Lon­don ri­vals Ar­se­nal on Sun­day, are well clear at the top of the ta­ble and on the brink of bring­ing the English ti­tle back to Stam­ford Bridge for the first time since 2010.

The PFA team com­prised just four English play­ers.

Eden Haz­ard, the PFA’S player of the year, was in mid­field along with Chelsea team­mate Ne­manja Matic, while star striker Diego Costa, who has scored 19 goals in the Pre­mier League so far this sea­son, was se­lected up front. Blues cap­tain John Terry and cen­tre-back part­ner Gary Cahill were at the heart of the PFA team’s de­fence, with full-back Branislav Ivanovic also in­cluded.

Ryan Ber­trand, the other full-back in the PFA side, was a Chelsea player at the start of the sea­son be­fore join­ing Pre­mier League ri­vals Southamp­ton on a full­time deal fol­low­ing a loan move to St Mary’s.

Manch­ester United’s David de Gea was in goal for the PFA side, while the mid­field also fea­tured Liver­pool’s Philippe Coutinho and Ar­se­nal’s Alexis Sanchez.

Mean­while Tot­ten­ham Hot­spur and Eng­land ris­ing star Harry Kane, crowned the PFA’S young player of the year at an awards cer­e­mony in Lon­don on Sun­day, was cho­sen to part­ner Costa in attack.

PFA team of the year: David de Gea (Manch­ester United); Ryan Ber­trand (Southamp­ton), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea); Eden Haz­ard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liver­pool), Ne­manja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Ar­se­nal); Harry Kane (Tot­ten­ham Hot­spur), Diego Costa (Chelsea). — Reuters

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Lesotho

© PressReader. All rights reserved.