Premier­ship un­veils awards nom­i­nees

Lesotho Times - - Front Page - Mikia Kalati

Li­oli’s Tšoanelo Koe­tle and Jerry Kamele and Bantu hit­man Litšepe Marabe will fight-it-out for the 2014/15 Vo­da­com Premier League Player-of-the -Sea­son award.

Ac­cord­ing to Premier League Man­age­ment Com­mit­tee (PLMC) gen­eral man­ager, Baitsi Mot­samai, the win­ner would be an­nounced dur­ing a spe­cial ban­quet sched­uled for Maseru Sun on 25 June.

The young player of the sea­son, coach of the sea­son, goal­keeper of the year, top goalscorer, fair play team of the sea­son, ra­dio, TV and print re­porters of the sea­son awards as well as ref­eree and as­sis­tant ref­eree of the sea­son, would also be an­nounced on the night, which is one of the most spe­cial occa- sions in Le­sotho foot­ball.

Af­ter driv­ing Li­oli to the premier league ti­tle with im­pres­sive per­for­mances week-in and week-out, it is no sur­prise that Koe­tle and Kamele have been short­listed for the most pres­ti­gious in­di­vid­ual award in do­mes­tic soc­cer. In ad­di­tion to the league cham­pi­onship, Li­oli also won the Vo­da­com Premier League ti­tle and In­de­pen­dence Cup, but in Marabe, they would be bat­tling a player who made a dif­fer­ence at Bantu with his un­canny scor­ing abil­ity. Marabe helped Bantu win the LNIG Top8 tour­na­ment, fin­ish sec­ond on the 14-team premier­ship ta­ble and was the league’s top marks­man with 23 goals.

Ac­cord­ing to Mot­samai, Marabe and Koe­tle are also in con­tention for the play­ers’ player of the sea­son award along­side Li­oli goal­keeper Lite­boho Mokhele.

Tumelo Khut­lang, who won the young player of the sea­son award over the last two sea­sons, will be up against Bantu’s Hlom­pho Kalake and Thabo Seakhoa of LCS for the same gong come 25 June.

Li­oli coach Mosholu ‘Shoes’ Mokhothu, Bantu’s Mot­latsi Shale, and Lik­ila United’s Bob Mafoso would fight for the coach-of-the­sea­son award. Mafoso, who led the premier­ship rook­ies to sixth-place fin­ish, is the dark horse in this cat­e­gory.

Li­oli’s Mokhehle, Bantu’s Kholuoe Pha­sumane and Daniel Jousse of LCS will fight for the goal­keeper of the year award, ac­cord­ing to Mot­samai.

Mean­while, in ad­di­tion to in­di­vid­ual awards, teams would be pre­sented with their prizes on the night, with the leaguewin­ners tak­ing home M200 000, run­ners-up M100 000, third place M80 000 and fourth­placed side rak­ing in M60 000.

Teams which oc­cu­pied po­si­tions five to eight would each get M40 000; nine to 12 pocket M30 000, and 13-14 take home M25 000 apiece.

Linare cap­tain Mabuti Pot­loane was crowned 2013/14 player of the sea­son and pock­eted M2000 for his ef­forts, and this year’s win­ner would still get the same amount. The other play­ers would also get the same prize monies of M2000 each, while re­porters in the dif­fer­ent cat­e­gories would each take home M1000. The team which had the least num­ber of cards would get the Fair Play Award that car­ries a prize of M5000.

FROM left: Bantu goal­keeper Kholuoe Pha­sumane, Tšoanelo Koe­tle (Li­oli), Jerry Kamele (Li­oli), Litšepe Marabe (Bantu), Tumelo Khut­lang (Sun­dawana) and Thabo Seakhoa (LCS).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Lesotho

© PressReader. All rights reserved.