TMO’s mis­take, chief ad­mits to Wales

New Straits Times - - SPORT -

LON­DON: Wales have re­ceived a for­mal ad­mis­sion from World Rugby they should have had a try awarded in last Satur­day’s 12-6 Six Na­tions de­feat at Twick­en­ham, draw­ing the ire of Eng­land coach Ed­die Jones.

Wales’ as­sis­tant coach Rob How­ley said that World Rugby’s ref­er­ee­ing chief Alain Rol­land ad­mit­ted an er­ror by the Tele­vi­sion Match Of­fi­cial (TMO) in a con­ver­sa­tion on Mon­day with Wales coach War­ren Gat­land.

“I know War­ren Gat­land spoke to Alain Rol­land, and they con­firmed that the TMO made a mis­take,” How­ley told re­porters.

“It was good to have di­a­logue with World Rugby. It’s hap­pened. It is dis­ap­point­ing that hap­pens in pro­fes­sional sport, but we fo­cus on the next two weeks and get­ting our­selves ready for Ire­land.

“There was plenty of time af­ter that de­ci­sion. We had a cou­ple of op­por­tu­ni­ties which we should have taken .”

Gareth An­scombe ap­peared to ground the ball over the try line ahead of Eng­land winger An­thony Wat­son in a chase in the first half, af­ter the home team had taken an early 12-0 lead.

An­scombe looked to get some down­ward pres­sure on the ball, but the TMO Glenn New­man ruled there was no clear ev­i­dence of ground­ing in what Gat­land, af­ter the match, called “a ter­ri­ble mis­take.”

Jones re­sponded by ac­cus­ing World Rugby of un­der­min­ing their own match of­fi­cials.

“I just think once the game’s done and dusted that’s the game, you can’t have ret­ro­spec­tive ref­er­ee­ing of de­ci­sions be­ing done,” he said.

“We’ve got to trust the ref­er­ees, re­spect their in­tegrity. When I say re­spect the ref­eree, that’s the TV process as well, and then you leave it at that, and then you get on with it. One side’s won, one side’s lost.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.