Af­ter first phase of polls in Sarawak, he is ahead of Rafizi by more than 4,500 votes


UN­OF­FI­CIAL results for the first leg of PKR’s fi­nal round of polls held in Sarawak yes­ter­day saw deputy pres­i­dent Datuk Seri Azmin Ali re­main in the lead to de­fend his post against chal­lenger vice-pres­i­dent Rafizi Ramli.

Azmin has 62,421 votes while Rafizi re­ceived 57,844.

Over the course of the party polls, which be­gan on Sept 22, there was fierce com­pe­ti­tion be­tween Azmin and Rafizi, with the for­mer lead­ing by an over­all mar­gin of 4,577 votes up to 7pm.

The first of two phases of polls saw the elec­tion process car­ried out at 20 branches yes­ter­day.

How­ever, polling for the Ju­lau branch, which saw an un­usual voter spike from 66 to an as­tound­ing 13,178, had been post­poned due to a dis­cov­ery of spy­ware in 10 tablets used for e-vot­ing.

PKR cen­tral lead­er­ship coun­cil mem­ber Latheefa Koya had ear­lier called for polling in Ju­lau to be sus­pended due to al­leged dis­crep­an­cies in voter num­bers.

Azmin has been lead­ing the race for the deputy pres­i­dency in 13 states, where he had edged Rafizi with a ma­jor­ity of 3,202 af­ter ob­tain­ing 59,594 votes (51.4 per cent). Rafizi was trail­ing at 56,392 votes (48.6 per cent).

How­ever, as at press time, un­of­fi­cial results for other posts are yet to be re­leased.

Azmin’s al­lies run­ning for the four vice-pres­i­dent seats re­main in a com­fort­able po­si­tion: Am­pang mem­ber of par­lia­ment and out­go­ing Wanita chief Zu­raida Ka­marud­din ob­tained 52,226 votes, Kuala Lan­gat mem­ber of par­lia­ment Dr Xavier Jayaku­mar won 47,566 votes and for­mer Batu MP Tian Chua re­ceived 42,068.

The only vice-pres­i­dency can­di­date who is not from the same camp, in­cum­bent Nu­rul Iz­zah Anwar, re­main in the top four af­ter ob­tain­ing 67,050 votes.

As for the Youth chief post, Se­berang Jaya as­sem­bly­man Dr Afif Ba­hardin is in the lead with 14,000 votes, leav­ing be­hind his challengers Jo­hor Baru MP Ak­mal Nas­rul­lah Mohd Nasir (13,169) and Kota Ang­gerik as­sem­bly­man Mohd Na­jwan Hal­imi (2,982).

For the deputy Youth chief post, Azmin’s po­lit­i­cal sec­re­tary, Hil­man Ad­ham, leads with 16,951 votes while ri­val Ray­mond Ahuar re­ceived 8,440 votes.

For the Wanita chief’s post, Ta­man Medan state as­sem­bly­man Haniza Mohd Talha is lead­ing the race with 24,179 votes, while her chal­lenger, Kuantan MP Fuziah Salleh, ob­tained 19,662 votes.

The fight for the deputy Wanita chief post saw Daroyah Alwi in the lead with 23,599 against ri­val Rodziah Is­mail (18,006 votes).

A ma­jor­ity of Azmin’s camp is seen lead­ing the race for 20 seats in the lead­er­ship coun­cil.

Top­ping the charts are Se­lan­gor Men­teri Be­sar Amirudin Shari, Sun­gai Bu­loh MP R. Si­varasa and Deputy De­wan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Rashid Has­non.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.