Hon­our roll

The Star Malaysia - Star2 - - LIVING -

THE 2011 Ig No­bel win­ners: Phys­i­ol­ogy: Anna Wilkin­son, Natalie Se­banz, Is­abella Mandl and Lud­wig Hu­ber for their study No Ev­i­dence Of Con­ta­gious Yawn­ing In The Red-footed Tor­toise. Chem­istry: Makoto Imai, Naoki Urushi­hata, Hideki Tane­mura, Yuki­nobu Ta­jima, Hideaki Goto, Koichiro Mi­zoguchi and Ju­nichi Mu­rakami for their wasabi alarm. Medicine: Matthew Lewis, Peter Snyder, Robert Feld­man, Robert Pi­etrzak, David Darby, Paul Maruff along with Mir­jam Tuk, De­bra Trampe and Luk War­lop for study­ing the ef­fects of hold­ing in urine. Psy­chol­ogy: Karl Halvor Teigen for try­ing to un­der­stand why peo­ple sigh. Lit­er­a­ture: John Perry for his the­ory of pro­cras­ti­na­tion: To be a high achiever, al­ways work on some­thing im­por­tant, us­ing it as a way to avoid do­ing some­thing that’s even more im­por­tant. Bi­ol­ogy: Daryll Gwynne and David Rentz for dis­cov­er­ing that cer­tain kinds of bee­tles try to mate with cer­tain kinds of Aus­tralian beer bot­tles. Physics: Philippe Per­rin, Cyril Perrot, Do­minique De­viterne, Bruno Ra­garu and Her­man Kingma for try­ing to de­ter­mine why dis­cus throw­ers be­come dizzy, and why ham­mer throw­ers don’t. Math­e­mat­ics: As­sorted dooms­day pre­dic­tors through­out his­tory for teach­ing the world to be care­ful when mak­ing math­e­mat­i­cal assumptions and cal­cu­la­tions. Peace: Ar­turas Zuokas for solv­ing the prob­lem of il­le­gally parked cars by crush­ing them with an ar­moured ve­hi­cle. Pub­lic Safety: John Sen­ders for his ex­per­i­ments in which a driver on a ma­jor high­way re­peat­edly has a visor flapped down over his face. – AP

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.