New boarding and day school
EMINENT UK school King Henry VIII College (King Henry) is putting centuries of experience to work in Malaysia. The college will open in Cyberjaya this September.
The new boarding and day school for girls and boys aged three to 18 will bear the historic name of the royal founder of its sister school, Christ College Brecon – one of the UK’s oldest schools, founded by the Royal Charter in 1541.
Christ College has a long and distinguished history. For 300 years it was a Dominican friary and in 1541, King Henry VIII established a school on the site with the intention of training older boys to be ordained as priests and giving younger boys a basic education.
For the next century, the school educated small groups of local “scholars”, mostly in the classics – the literature, history and language of ancient Greece and Rome.
As the English Civil War came to an end through the 1650s, the chapel as well as the remaining property of the former friary were almost completely destroyed at the hands of a local landowner, Roger Thomas.
In 1660, the chapel was restored through the generosity of Bishop Lucy, one of three Bishops of St Davids who are buried in the chapel.
The College of Christ of Brecknock alternately flourished and struggled in the centuries that followed.
By the beginning of the 19th century, the school had only a few pupils and the buildings were almost derelict.
Christ College was refounded by the Act of Parliament in 1853 and reopened on Jan 31, 1856, as a “public” school.
School House opened in 1864 as the first purposebuilt boarding accommodation to provide dormitories for 40 boarders, as well as classrooms and accommodation for the headmaster.
As the school expanded further, new buildings were erected to house more classrooms, a science laboratory in 1882 and a big school room in 1882, along with additional accommodation in 1890.
The 20th century saw further development: laboratories, boarding accommodation, classrooms and a memorial hall built in 1955 to honour those who lost their lives in World War II.
Day girls joined the Sixth Form in the following year and de Winton House, the first house for girls, was opened in 1987.
Christ College became fully coeducational in 1995 when girls were admitted throughout the school.
Recent decades have seen even more expansion of the facilities available to meet the changing needs of a coeducational boarding and day school.
Among the newer buildings are the Lord Brecon Classroom Block and Sports Hall built in 1986, the Queen’s Building for chemistry and economics opened by Princess Margaret in 1991 on the occasion of the school’s 450th anniversary, the Hubert Jones Science Centre for biology and physics in 2010 and the multipurpose hall plus gallery space for music, drama, and art called Neuadd Goffa in 2013.
Saint Nicholas House, the junior section of Christ College was opened in 2014.
King Henry will proudly reflect the history and tradition of its sister school and build on its past experience and character.
■ King Henry VIII College has its office at G07, Gem In Mall, Persiaran Sepang, Cyber 11, Cyberjaya, Selangor.
Contact 038322 7722, email firstname.lastname@example.org or visit http://www.kinghenryviii. edu.my for details.
The Christ College campus as it appeared in 1870.
Christ College’s School House in 2012.