No­bel Medicine Prize win­ners

The Sun (Malaysia) - - LIFESTYLE -

HERE’S a list of re­cent No­bel Medicine Prize win­ners:

2015: Wil­liam Camp­bell (US cit­i­zen born in Ire­land), Satoshi Omura (Ja­pan), and Tu Youyou (China) for un­lock­ing treat­ments for malaria and round­worm.

2014: John O’Keefe (Bri­tain, US), Ed­vard I. Moser and MayBritt Moser (Nor­way) for dis­cov­er­ing how the brain nav­i­gates with an ‘in­ner GPS’.

2013: Thomas C. Sued­hof (US cit­i­zen born in Ger­many), James E. Roth­man and Randy W. Schek­man (US) for work on how the cell or­gan­ises its trans­port sys­tem.

2012: Shinya Ya­manaka (Ja­pan) and John B. Gur­don (Bri­tain) for dis­cov­er­ies show­ing how adult cells can be trans­formed back into stem cells.

2011: Bruce Beut­ler (US), Jules Hoff­mann (French cit­i­zen born in Lux­em­bourg) and Ralph Stein­man (Canada) for work on the body’s im­mune sys­tem. – AFP

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.