Michael Pace wins the Malta Clas­sic Grand Prix

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

Michael Pace was the win­ner of the Malta Clas­sic Grand Prix by Chopard.

Drew Campbell-Smith from Chopard and Mal­colm Low­ell from Ed­wards Low­ell pre­sented Pace with a Chopard Mille Miglia Chrono­graph at an awards gala re­cep­tion at the Corinthia Palace Ho­tel & Spa.

Mr Chris Agius, Par­lia­men­tary Sec­re­tary for Re­search, In­no­va­tion, Youth and Sport, also pre­sented Pace with a cus­tom de­signed and crafted tro­phy from Md­ina Glass.

Pace is the driver of a 1975 Honda Civic.

Dur­ing this awards gala, at­tended by over 60 lo­cal and for­eign driv­ers as well as a con­tin­gent of for­eign press from mo­tor­sport and travel publi­ca­tions, the Chair­man of the Malta Tourism Au­thor­ity, Dr. Gavin Gu­lia, pre­sented a tro­phy to the Satur­day Over­all (Stan­dard Cars Cat­e­gory) win­ner Zac Mat­ten, driver of a 1974 Dat­sun 260 Z.

Other win­ners from the Malta Clas­sic Grand Prix by Chopard were awarded tro­phies by Val­letta Grand Prix Foun­da­tion Chair­man Joseph Zam­mit Tabona.

These in­cluded:

Satur­day Group Win­ners

A3 Stan­dard Cars: 1st - Roberto Gauci (1975 Mini Club­man GT), 2nd - Dion Borg (1974 Fiat X-19), 3rd - Michel Zarb (1973 Lan­ci­aFul­via) A4 Stan­dard Cars: Marco Cer­nic­chi (1960 Porsche 356 B) A5 Stan­dard Cars: 1st - Gor­don Vella (Porsche 911 Targa), 2nd - Paul Sapienza (1975 BMW 2002Tii), 3rd - Peter Hansen (1970 MG B) A8 Stan­dard Cars: 1st - Zak Mat­ten (1974 Dat­sun 260 Z), 2nd - Ivan Far­ru­gia (1975 Mercedes SLC 450) D3 Mod­i­fied Cars: 1st - Michael Pace (1975 Honda Civic), 2nd - Lu­cas Pace (Honda Civic), 3rd - Ni­cholas Mal­lia (1968 Tri­umph Spit­fire) D4 Mod­i­fied Cars: 1st - Joseph Mif­sud (1969 Hill­man Imp), 2nd - Adrian Mus­cat Az­zopardi (1973 Austin Mini), 3rd - Pierre Tanti (1975 Austin Mini) D5 Mod­i­fied Cars: 1st - Clif­ford Debono (1970 Vitesse Tri­umph), 2nd - Ray Vella (1970 MG B), 3rd - Hu­bert Camil­leri (1969 Porsche 911S) E Guest Cars: 1st - Mick Hay (1972 Rey­nard Fury), 2nd - Ian Os­borne (1954 Austin Healy 100 BN1) Pre-War Cars: 1st - Joseph Hu­ber (1934 Ri­ley TT Sprite), 2nd - Steve Clark (1934 Tri­umph South­ern Cross), 3rd - Joe Ger­ada (1960 Tri­umph TR3 A) C Re­pro­duc­tion and Replica Cars: 1st Ge­orge Said (1975 Jaguar D-Type Re­vival)

Sun­day Race Win­ners

Group 1: Michael Pace (1975 Honda Civic) Group 2: Pat Thomas (1968 Lo­tus Elan) Group 3: Re­nato Agius (1976 Fiat 127 Abarth) Group 4: Guy Broad (1969 MG GT) Group 5: Joseph Said (1959 Jaguar Pro­teus E-Type) Group 6: Pamela Said (1968 MG B) Group 7: Mick Hay (1972 Rey­nard Fury) Pre-War (1934 Joseph Hu­ber, Ri­ley TT Sprite)

The Malta Clas­sic is spon­sored by Malta’s lead­ing lux­ury and life­style brands, in­clud­ing Chopard, Md­ina Glass, Thomas Smith, Shell, BMW, Sul­li­van Mar­itime, Far­sons, At­tard& Co., The Point, Pjaz­za­Tigne, Good Earth, Busy Bee, Air­swift Couri­ers, Atrium, Far­sons, Hal­man­nVella, As­sikura In­sur­ance, The Atrium, Mo­tul, Ve­loc­ity, Mirachem, Sphinx, Bill­board Ad­ver­tis­ing and Karl Borg Events. This event is also made pos­si­ble by the sup­port of Sport Malta, the Malta Tourism Au­thor­ity, Md­ina Lo­cal Coun­cil, Ra­bat Lo­cal Coun­cil, Mtarfa Lo­cal Coun­cil, Mel­lieha Lo­cal Coun­cil and Trans­port Malta.

Photo: Mario Galea

Michael Pace, cen­tre, dur­ing the pre­sen­ta­tion cer­e­mony

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.