FIFA leaves berths un­changed for 2019 Women’s World Cup

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

FIFA has left the al­lo­ca­tion of berths for the Women’s World Cup un­changed, mean­ing Europe will get one ex­tra berth when the tour­na­ment shifts to France in 2019 from Canada last year. The gov­ern­ing body said Fri­day that Europe gets eight slots at the 24-na­tion tour­na­ment in ad­di­tion to the host na­tion. Asia has five, Africa three and Ocea­nia one. North and Cen­tral Amer­ica and the Caribbean have three and South Amer­ica two. The fi­nal berth goes to the win­ner of a play­off be­tween the fourth-place team from CONCACAF and the third­place na­tion from South Amer­ica.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.