MOC Awards cer­e­mony to be held on 3 De­cem­ber Ath­letes from 23 as­so­ci­a­tions nom­i­nated

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

The Malta Olympic Com­mit­tee’s Awards cer­e­mony for 2016 is to be held on 3 De­cem­ber at the Corinthia Ho­tel in At­tard.

The an­nounce­ment was made by the MOC pres­i­dent Ju­lian Pace Bonello who thanked all ath­letes, es­pe­cially those nom­i­nated for th­ese awards.

He also re­vealed that this year’s guest for the Awards will be for­mer Ital­ian Olympic medal win­ner Roberto di Donna, who was an Ital­ian sports shooter and Olympic cham­pion. He re­ceived a gold medal in 10 me­tre air pis­tol at the 1996 Sum­mer Olympics in At­lanta. He had also won bronze in the same Olympics edi­tion in the 50 me­tres pis­tol event.

Mark Cutajar, the chair­man of the Or­gan­is­ing Com­mit­tee, also ad­dressed those present for the con­fer­ence yes­ter­day and said that this would be his last edi­tion as chair­man. “But this does not


mean the end. Of course, I will con­tinue con­tribut­ing to­wards more suc­cess for this event in fu­ture,” he said.

Cutajar added that as usual, the event’s aim was to re­ward all those ath­letes af­fil­i­ated with the MOC who did well and ob­tained suc­cess­ful re­sults in the name of the coun­try abroad. “It will be a cel­e­bra­tion of sport”, he said.

Among other things, he said that the OC is also in­tro­duc­ing a new cat­e­gory of merit for youths or vet­er­ans who re­ally de­serve to be re­warded.

Cutajar added that Charles Ca­men­zuli will be the pre­sen­ter dur­ing the evening cer­e­mony, which will be screened live on TVM2. Nom­i­nated ath­letes Ath­let­ics: Rachid Chouhal, Char­lotte Wing­field, Lisa Marie Bezzina. Bad­minton: Mark Abela, Sam Cas­sar. Bas­ket­ball: Women’s national team. Bil­liards/Snooker: Brian Cini, Alex Borg. Body­build­ing: Luke De­bono. Boxing: Haithem Laamouz. Ten pin Bowl­ing: Sue Abela, Tiziana Caran­nante, Neil Sul­li­van, Mark Spi­teri, Shaun Mon­ta­naro, Ed­ward Xuereb, Sara Xuereb, Matthew Ma­gro, Shadon Psaila, Alessia Schem­bri. Cy­cling: Marie Claire Aquilina, Stephanie Alden, Dan­ica Bonello Spi­teri, Han­nah Pace, Mar­ion Pul­li­cino, Michelle Vella Wood. Darts: Nor­bert At­tard. Golf: John Verelst Mi­callef, Andrew Borg, Ruud Cri­tien, Luc Schem­bri. Gym­nas­tics: Sana Grillo. Pool: Dy­lan Cas­sar, De­jan Grech, Ryan Pisani, Lothar Mal­lia. Bowls Raffa: David Far­ru­gia, Ste­fan Far­ru­gia, Reno Far­ru­gia, Giuseppe Gemelli. Rac­ing: An­thony De­manuele, Ju­lian Far­ru­gia, Rod­ney Gatt, Charles Camil­leri. Rugby: National men’s team; National women’s team. Sailing: Victoria Schultheis. Shoot­ing: Wil­liam Chet­cuti, Naz­zareno At­tard, Gian­luca Chet­cuti, Nathan Lee Xuereb. Squash: Ki­jan Sul­tana. Ta­ble Foot­ball: Derek Conti, Ja­son Pisani, Sa­muel Bar­tolo, Jur­gen Balzan. Triathlon: Dan­ica Bonello Spi­teri, Keith Galea, Han­nah Pace. Ten­nis: He­lene Pel­li­cano. Water­polo: National men’s A team. Weightlift­ing: Yas­min Zam­mit Stevens, Pamela Psaila, Rod­mar Pulis, Kyle Mi­callef, Ryan Agius. Lo­cal Coun­cils Birkirkara, Dingli, Flo­ri­ana, Gudja, Gha­jn­sielem, Luqa, Mel­lieha, Qormi, Safi, Zur­rieq.

Rashid Chouhal be­ing pre­sented with a cer­tifi­cate by Or­gan­is­ing Com­mit­tee chair­man Mark Cutajar

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.