Messi, Ney­mar, Rob­sonKanu go for FIFA award

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

Lionel Messi, Ney­mar and a Jo­han Cruyff-style turn from Hal Rob­son-Kanu are among 10 can­di­dates to win the FIFA Puskas Award for goal of the year.

Messi has been nom­i­nated for a curl­ing, left­footed free kick for Ar­gentina against the United States in a Copa Amer­ica Cen­te­nario semi­fi­nal match in June.

Ney­mar turned to vol­ley a right-footed shot from his own loop­ing flick for Barcelona against Vil­lar­real in Novem­ber 2015. The Brazil for­ward pre­vi­ously won the 2011 Puskas Award for a goal scored for San­tos.

Wales beat heav­ily favoured Bel­gium in a Euro­pean Cham­pi­onship quar­ter­fi­nal in July, tak­ing the lead when Rob­sonKanu cre­ated space by mis­di­rect­ing three de­fend­ers with a deft Cruyff turn.

FIFA said an on­line vote un­til De­cem­ber 2 will cre­ate a short­list of three goals. A sec­ond round of vot­ing will de­cide the win­ner at FIFA’s an­nual awards cer­e­mony in Zurich on 9 Jan­uary.

The 10 goals were scored be­tween 30 Septem­ber, 2015 and 30 Septem­ber, 2016.

They in­clude Saul Niguez’s solo drib­ble for Atletico Madrid through the Bay­ern Mu­nich de­fence in a Cham­pi­ons League semi­fi­nal in April.

From in­side his own half, Hlom­pho Kekana scored for South Africa against Cameroon in an Africa Cup of Na­tions qual­i­fier in March.

A div­ing back-heel flick by Si­mon Skrabb scored in a Swedish league game for Atvid­aberg against Ge­fle in Oc­to­ber 2015.

The other can­di­dates are: Mario Gas­par (for Spain vs. Eng­land, friendly, Novem­ber 2015); Mar­lone (for Corinthi­ans vs. Co­bre­sal, Copa Lib­er­ta­dores, April 2016); Da­niuska Ro­driguez (for Venezuela vs. Colom­bia, South Amer­i­can Women’s Un­der-17 Cham­pi­onship, March 2016); Mohd Faiz Subri (for Pe­nang vs. Pa­hang, Malaysia Su­per League, Fe­bru­ary 2016).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.