Charl­ton Debono con­firms ex­cel­lent form with Zur­rieq win

● Si­mon Spi­teri dom­i­nates 10K race

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

Charl­ton Debono of Gozo Ath­letix AC con­firmed his cur­rent ex­cel­lent form with an­other suc­cess­ful re­sult af­ter last Sun­day’s win of the Ex­press Trail­ers Zur­rieq Half Marathon clock­ing 1.14.00min.

Jonathan Balzan and Matthew Cu­ta­jar both of St Pa­trick’s AC came in se­cond and third place re­spec­tively with a time of 1.15.02min and 1.17.39min.

Also in the Half Marathon, Lisa M. Bezzina of Ath­leta Pem­broke fin­ished first fe­male in a time of 1.24.50min.

Josann A. At­tard Pulis of Star­max came in se­cond in 1.30.34 and Laura E. Heikkila of AC Lib­er­tas claimed third place in 1.33.45min

In the 10k run, Si­mon Spi­teri of St Pa­trick’s placed first af­ter com­plet­ing the race in 0.33.18min fol­lowed closely by An­drew Grech of Mel­lieħa AC in 0.33.31min and Ste­fan Az­zopardi of Gozo Ath­letix AC in third place in 0.33.43min.

Rita Galea of Mel­lieha AC fin­ished first fe­male in the 10km race with a time of 0.38.32min fol­lowed by An­gele Satar­i­ano in se­cond place in 0.38.44min and Hannah Z. Pace of Ath­leta Pem­broke in third place in 0.40.45min.

This year’s 19th edi­tion of the Ex­press Trail­ers Zur­rieq HM, 10km Run & 10km Walk saw an­other record 1,012 regis­tra­tions con­firm­ing the event as one of the top run­ning events on the is­land.

Franco Az­zopardi, Chair­man and CEO of Ex­press Trail­ers thanked Zur­rieq Wolves, the Malta Marathon Or­gan­is­ing Com­mit­tee and the Zur­rieq Lo­cal Coun­cil for their ef­forts to en­sure an­other suc­cess­ful edi­tion.

“Ex­press Trail­ers is proud to lend its name and sup­port to the this event as it es­tab­lishes it­self as one of the most sought af­ter road­run­ning events. The lo­ca­tion, the scenic route that passes through some of the most pic­turesque vil­lages round Zur­rieq and the very mild weather, all con­trib­ute to the unique­ness of this event. We are now look­ing for­ward to next year’s event which will be a 20th an­niver­sary cel­e­bra­tion,” said Franco Az­zopardi.


Half Marathon re­sults


1 Charl­ton Debono 1:14:00 GOZO ATH­LETIX AC

2 Jonathan Balzan 1:15:02 ST PA­TRICK'S AC

3 Matthew C. Cu­ta­jar 1:17:39 ST PA­TRICK'S AC

4 Drew W. Lang 1:18:19 ATH­LETA PEM­BROKE

5 Alexan­der A. Schem­bri 1:18:24 AGONES SFC


1 Lisa M. Bezzina 1:24:50 ATH­LETA PEM­BROKE

2 Josann At­tard Pulis 1:30:34 STAR­MAX

3 Laura Heikkila 1:33:45 AC LIB­ER­TAS

4 Vicki John­son 1:35:56 LADIES RUN­NING CLUB

5 Amanda Rapa 1:36:13 STAR­MAX

10 K re­sults Men

1 Si­mon Spi­teri 0:33:18 ST PA­TRICK'S AC

2 An­drew Grech 0:33:31 MEL­LIEHA AC

3 Ste­fan Az­zopardi 0:33:43 GOZO ATH­LETIX AC

4 Jean Paul Debono 0:34:22 ZUR­RIEQ WOLVES AC

5 Clive Ger­ada 0:34:39 ST PA­TRICK'S AC


1 Rita Galea 0:38:32 MEL­LIEHA AC

2 An­gele Star­i­ano 0:38:44 AC LIB­ER­TAS

3 Hannah Pace 0:40:45 ATH-

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.