55 names re­vealed for FIFA FIFPro World 11 2016

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

FIFPro, the world­wide play­ers’ union, and FIFA yes­ter­day an­nounced the fi­nal 55-player short­list for the FIFA FIFPro World11 2016.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 is de­cided by the play­ers, for the play­ers. It in­volves votes from more than 25,000 pro­fes­sional foot­ballers from over 75 dif­fer­ent coun­tries. They each se­lect one goal­keeper, four de­fend­ers, three mid­field­ers and three for­wards.

FIFPro and its na­tional af­fil­i­ates are re­spon­si­ble for gath­er­ing votes from pro­fes­sional foot­ballers world­wide.

The 55-player short­list

Goal­keep­ers (5): Clau­dio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manch­ester City), Gian­luigi Buf­fon (Italy/Ju­ven­tus), David de Gea (Spain/Manch­ester United), Key­lor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Ger­many/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich). De­fend­ers (20): David Alaba (Aus­tria/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Serge Aurier (Côte d’Ivoire/Paris Sain­tGer­main), Héc­tor Bellerìn (Spain/Arse­nal), Jérôme Boateng (Ger­many/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Ju­ven­tus), Daniel Car­va­jal (Spain/Real Madrid), Gior­gio Chiellini (Italy/Ju­ven­tus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Ju­ven­tus), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Sain­tGer­main/Chelsea), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atlético Madrid), Mats Hum­mels (Ger­many/Borus­sia Dort­mund/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Philipp Lahm (Ger­many/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascher­ano (Ar­gentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Por­tu­gal/Real Madrid), Ger­ard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona), Ser­gio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Thi­ago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Ger­main) and Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid). Mid­field­ers (15): Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Ser­gio Bus­quets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Bel­gium/Manch­ester City), Eden Hazard (Bel­gium/Chelsea), An­drés Ini­esta (Spain/FC Barcelona), N’Golo Kanté (France/Le­ices­ter City/Chelsea) Toni Kroos (Ger­many/Real Madrid), Luka Mo­drić (Croa­tia/Real Madrid), Me­sut Özil (Ger­many/Arse­nal), Dim­itri Payet (France/West Ham United), Paul Pogba (France/Ju­ven­tus/Manch­ester United), Ivan Rak­i­tić (Croa­tia/FC Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Manch­ester City), Marco Ver­ratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Ger­main) and Ar­turo Vi­dal (Chile/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich). Strik­ers (15): Ser­gio Agüero (Ar­gentina/Manch­ester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Ben­zema (France/Real Madrid), Cris­tiano Ron­aldo (Por­tu­gal/Real Madrid), Paulo Dy­bala (Ar­gentina/Ju­ven­tus), An­toine Griez­mann (France/Atlético Madrid), Gon­zalo Higuaín (Ar­gentina/Napoli/Ju­ven­tus), Zla­tan Ibrahi­mović (Swe­den/Paris Sain­tGer­main/Manch­ester United), Robert Le­wandowski (Poland/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Lionel Messi (Ar­gentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Ger­many/FC Bay­ern Mu­nich), Ney­mar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arse­nal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) and Jamie Vardy (Eng­land/Le­ices­ter City).

The fi­nal FIFA FIFPro World11 will be an­nounced at The Best FIFA Foot­ball Awards cer­e­mony at the Zurich TPC stu­dios on 9 Jan­uary 2017.

Dur­ing the cer­e­mony The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016, The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016, The FIFA Puskás Award 2016, The FIFA Fan Award and The FIFA Fair Play Award will also be pre­sented.

FIFA will an­nounce the fi­nal nom­i­nees for The Best FIFA Foot­ball Awards to­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.