Cham­pi­ons League win­ners Bay­ern, Lyon head UEFA awards lists

Malta Independent - - Sport -

Cham­pi­ons League win­ner Bay­ern Mu­nich dom­i­nated the short­lists an­nounced Wed­nes­day for UEFA's 2019-20 sea­son awards in Euro­pean soc­cer.

Bay­ern for­ward Robert Le­wandowksi, who scored a ca­reer-best 55 goals for his club last sea­son, and goal­keeper Manuel Neuer were nom­i­nated for men's player of the year in Europe af­ter a dom­i­nant sea­son with the tre­ble-win­ning Ger­man team.

The third nom­i­nee was Kevin de Bruyne, who won the play­ers' vote in Eng­land and starred as Manch­ester City reached the Cham­pi­ons League quar­ter­fi­nals and fin­ished sec­ond in the Premier League to Liver­pool.

Bay­ern coach Hansi Flick, who only took charge in Novem­ber, heads an all-Ger­man list of men's coach nom­i­na­tions.

It in­cludes Liver­pool's Jür­gen Klopp and Ju­lian Nagels­mann of Leipzig.

The short­lists were voted on by coaches of the 80 teams that played in the Cham­pi­ons League and Europa League group stages, and me­dia from each of UEFA's 55 mem­ber coun­tries.

Women's Cham­pi­ons League win­ner Lyon pro­vided Wendie Re­nard and Lucy Bronze for the best player short­list and Jean-Luc Vasseur for the coach's award in women's soc­cer.

Cham­pi­ons League beaten fi­nal­ist Wolfs­burg had Pernille Harder on the player short­list and Stephan Lerch among the coach nom­i­nees.

All three can­di­dates for the women's coach­ing award are men, with Lluís Cortes of Barcelona com­plet­ing the list.

The vot­ing jury was made up of the coaches of Cham­pi­ons League and na­tional teams, plus spe­cial­ist me­dia in women's soc­cer.

The awards will be an­nounced and pre­sented at the men's Cham­pi­ons League groups draw on Oct. 1 at UEFA head­quar­ters in Nyon, Switzer­land.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.