Dean of Science Awards

The Malta Independent on Sunday - - EDUCATION -

Fol­low­ing an es­tab­lished tra­di­tion since 1995, the Dean of Science Awards 20162017 for out­stand­ing stu­dents of the Uni­ver­sity of Malta’s Fac­ulty of Science was held on 4 May. The awarded stu­dents’ rel­a­tives and the event spon­sors were in­vited to the cer­e­mony which took place at the ICT Au­di­to­rium, Msida Cam­pus. The cer­e­mony started with a wel­come ad­dress by the Dean, Pro­fes­sor Charles V. Sam­mut, fol­lowed by a speech by Rec­tor Prof. Al­fred Vella and by the Par­lia­men­tary Sec­re­tary for Youth, Sports and Vol­un­tary Or­gan­i­sa­tions Clifton Grima. This was fol­lowed by an acous­ti­cal set by the band Carlo Mus­cat and Dic­con Cooper.

Prof. Sam­mut spoke about the no­tion of re­search that is pre­dom­i­nantly funded to reach com­mer­cial­i­sa­tion in a short time, which is not con­ducive to in­no­va­tion in the long term. De­spite the chal­lenges faced, there are a num­ber of on­go­ing projects within the Fac­ulty of Science, mostly in col­lab­o­ra­tion with other in­ter­na­tional projects, such as the 10 mil­lion Euro project Hy­brid Op­tome­chan­i­cal Tech­nolo­gies (HOT), the first Mal­tese-led COST ac­tion MyWAVE, while the Geo­sciences Depart­ment have three funded projects un­der Hori­zon 2020. Aca­demics of the Fac­ulty are cur­rently in­volved in over 40 mostly in­ter­na­tional projects worth in to­tal over 45 mil­lion Euro, of which the Uni­ver­sity’s share is about 5 mil­lion.

The Rec­tor, Prof. Al­fred Vella, con­grat­u­lated the stu­dents and ad­dressed the need for Malta to at­tract even more stu­dents to­wards STEM sub­jects. The Hon. Clifton Grima praised the sig­nif­i­cant re­search and var­i­ous outreach ac­tiv­i­ties in col­lab­o­ra­tion with the Di­rec­torate of Cur­ricu­lum to con­tin­u­ously at­tract stu­dents to science, and stated that the Uni­ver­sity does not only pre­pare stu­dents for the present needs of so­ci­ety but equips them with knowl­edge and skills for fu­ture ac­tiv­i­ties. Mr Wayne Grech, the re­cip­i­ent of the Tech­no­line spe­cial prize for science thanked his fam­ily, friends and staff for the con­stant sup­port that made his dreams a re­al­ity, and was grate­ful to the qual­ity and quan­tity of ex­cel­lent re­search be­ing con­ducted at the Fac­ulty. Fur­ther­more, he en­cour­aged

This year’s award winners for the Dean’s List Year I

Far­ru­gia Jonathan (Math­e­mat­ics & Physics) Mif­sud Xan­dru (Math­e­mat­ics & Physics) Zam­mit Dy­lan( Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search)

Year II

Abela Nicky (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search) Cas­sar Daniela (Bank­ing and Fi­nance & Math­e­mat­ics) Healey Curt (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search)

Year III

Cas­sar Al­berto (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search) Mal­lia Lyn­don (Bank­ing and Fi­nance & Math­e­mat­ics) Xerri Ju­lia (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search)

Year IV

Bar­bara Abi­gail (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search) Borg An­drè (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search) Spi­teri Luke (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search) stu­dents not to let fail­ure stop them but to keep on per­se­ver­ing in fur­ther­ing their ed­u­ca­tion, as this in it­self was char­ac­ter build­ing.

At the end of the cer­e­mony, Pro­fes­sor Sam­mut thanked the Fac­ulty ad­min­is­tra­tive staff for the or­gan­i­sa­tion, and the spon­sors: Tech­no­line Lim­ited, ERA, the Malta Com­mu­ni­ca­tions Author­ity (MCA), Aurobindo, Medichem, Meth­ode, The En­to­mo­log­i­cal So­ci­ety (ESM) and Agenda Book­shop.

The spe­cial prize for science spon­sored by Tech­no­line was awarded in recog­ni­tion of out­stand­ing per­for­mance through­out the B.S.c (Hons) Pro­gramme 2013-7 to Mr G Grech Wayne (Math­e­mat­ics and Physics)

The award for the Best En­vi­ron­ment fi­nal year project spon­sored by ERA, was pre­sented to Claire Grima (Bi­ol­ogy) and Mikael Scerri Forte (Bi­ol­ogy).

The award for the best fi­nal year project in the Nu­mer­ate Sciences, spon­sored by MCA was pre­sented to An­drè Borg (Math­e­mat­ics & Sta­tis­tics and Op­er­a­tions Re­search).

The award of the Aurobindo Prize for An­a­lyt­i­cal Chem­istry was given to Ms Abi­gail Aquilina (Bi­ol­ogy and Chem­istry)

The award of the Medichem prize for or­ganic chem­istry was pre­sented to Mr Sa­muel Mus­cat (Chem­istry).

Cer­tifi­cates of Merit were also awarded for high stan­dards reached in the fi­nal year dis­ser­ta­tion to the fol­low­ing stu­dents: Agius God­frey, Aquilina Abi­gail, Borg An­drè, Camil­leri Marie, Cata­nia Ro­mario, Curmi Jeremy, Fiteni Karl, Hili Maria, Mi­callef Dale. Mus­cat Sa­muel, Spi­teri Lorella, Spi­teri Luke, Vella Ju­lia and Vella Matthew.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.