Two in­cum­bents, four new faces elected to MCDC

The Myanmar Times - - News - MAUNG ZAW maungzaw@mm­ – Trans­la­tion by Khine Thazin Han and Win Thaw Tar

THE re­sults of the hotly con­tested Man­dalay City Devel­op­ment Com­mit­tee (MCDC) elec­tion are in: Two in­cum­bents, along with four new mem­bers, have been elected to the six va­cant seats on the com­mit­tee, ac­cord­ing to an MCDC spokesper­son.

Five in­cum­bents stood for re-elec­tion to the 13-mem­ber com­mit­tee. Of the in­cum­bents, U Zaw Myo Lwin, who also is known as U Moe, from Chan Aye Tharzan town­ship, was re­elected with 4159 votes, as was U Ye Mon from Amara­pura town­ship with 13,909 votes.

In a state­ment fol­low­ing his re­elec­tion, U Ye Mon thanked his sup­port­ers and set out his pol­icy goals for the com­ing term.

“I will work with of­fi­cials to en­sure the long-term ex­is­tence of Taungthaman Lake and U Bein Bridge in Amara­pura town­ship. I will try to bring city devel­op­ment works to the vil­lages in Amara­pura town­ship that have not yet been reached and I will pri­ori­tise mak­ing Amara­pura a cleaner place,” he said.

The four newly elected mem­bers to MCDC are U Khine Myint for Aung May Tharzan town­ship; U Kyaw Zaya for Chan Aye Tharzan town­ship; U Kyaw Zaw Aung for Maha Aung Myay town­ship; and U Saw Han for Pyi­gy­ita­gun town­ship.

Vot­ers urged the new MCDC mem­bers to keep their prom­ises once they take their seats on the com­mit­tee.

“Dur­ing the cam­paign, the can­di­dates said that they would do what the vot­ers wanted and it is im­por­tant that they ful­fill their prom­ises once they are elected,” said one Man­dalay res­i­dent, U Min Htet Nyein Chan.

The MCDC spokesper­son an­nounc­ing the re­sults was keen to stress that they were pro­vi­sional re­sults only. Un­suc­cess­ful can­di­dates have a week to lodge protests, which will be ex­am­ined by of­fi­cials, he said.

Low voter turnout num­bers marred the elec­tions, which were held for only the sec­ond time in MCDC’s his­tory.

Just over 100,000 house­holds came out to vote in the elec­tions, which were held for six town­ships.

While this is al­most a 43 per­cent in­crease on the pre­vi­ous elec­tion’s fig­ures of 70,000 house­holds, ac­cord­ing the MCDC spokesper­son, it is still a low turnout when con­sid­er­ing the ac­tual num­ber of house­holds in the six town­ships.

The elec­tion fol­lows the de­ci­sion of the re­gional gov­ern­ment on July 7 to va­cate 11 of the 13 seats on the com­mit­tee.

The 13-mem­ber com­mit­tee con­sists of the mayor and the as­so­ci­ate sec­re­tary, five mem­bers ap­pointed by the re­gional gov­ern­ment, and six elected rep­re­sen­ta­tives.

Cur­rently, the seats re­served for re­gional gov­ern­ment ap­pointees have not yet been filled.

When asked, the joint sec­re­tary of MCDC, U Thet Naing Tun, could not say when the newly elected com­mit­tee mem­bers or the re­gional gov­ern­ment ap­pointees would be­gin their terms.

Photo: Maung Zaw

Vot­ers at a polling booth in Pyi­gy­ita­gun town­ship.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Myanmar

© PressReader. All rights reserved.