Peu­geot wins the Dakar Rally

Nam Wheels - - Front Page -

26 years af­ter its pre­vi­ous suc­cess on the epic event, Peu­geot has won the Dakar Rally for the fifth time. The two- wheel drive Peu­geot 2008 DKR tri­umphed with its most il­lus­tri­ous crew on the event: Stéphane Peter­hansel and Jean-paul Cot­tret.

• Peu­geot won the Dakar on just its se­cond par­tic­i­pa­tion in the South Amer­i­can event.

• The Peu­geot 2008 DKRS claimed nine stage wins out of 12, in­clud­ing 7 one-twos and 2 one-two-threes.

• Ex­actly 25 years since his first vic­tory (on a mo­tor­bike), Stéphane Peter­hansel sealed his 12th Dakar suc­cess.

• Cyril De­spres (with David Castera) and Sébastien Loeb (with Daniel Elena) were the big sur­prises of the Dakar. They fin­ished 7th and 9th.

• Three of the four PEU­GEOT 2008 DKRS en­tered reached the fin­ish.

Also see page 15!

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Namibia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.