En­gines of the Year

Nam Wheels - - Front Page -

The In­ter­na­tional En­gine of the Year awards was started in 1999 and saw a panel of au­to­mo­tive jour­nal­ists from around the world vote for the best com­bus­tions en­gines. Di­vided into 12 cat­e­gories, the most re­cent re­sults of this an­nual com­pe­ti­tion are as fol­lows:

• Sub 1-litre: Ford Ecoboost 999cc three-cylin­der turbo

• 1.0 to 1.4 litre: PSA Peugeot Citroën 1.2L three- cylin­der turbo

• 1.4 to 1.8 litre: BMW B38 1.5L three-cylin­der elec­tric­ga­so­line hy­brid

• 1.8 to 2.0 litre: MercedesAmg2-litre turbo M133

• 2.0 to 2.5 litre: Audi 2.5L 20v five-cylin­der turbo

• 2.5 to 3.0 litre: Porsche 3.0L twin turbo

• 3.0 to 4.0 litre: Ferrari 3.9L biturbo V8 F154

• Above 4.0 litre: Ferrari 6.3 L V12 F140 FC

• Best new en­gine: Ferrari 3.9L biturbo V8 F154

• Best green en­gine: Tesla Mo­tors full- elec­tric power train

• Best per­for­mance en­gine: Ferrari 3.9L biturbo V8 F154

• year: F154 In­ter­na­tion­alFer­rari 3.9L en­gine bitur­boof the V8 Since 1999, BMW has won the most awards (66), with the Volk­swa­gen AG group in sec­ond place at 35 awards and Fiat / Alfa / Ferrari in third at 16.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Namibia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.