RPP splits yet again

People's Review - - NEWS - By Our Re­porter

The Ras­triya Pra­jatantra Party (RPP) has split in seven months after it held its unity con­ven­tion in Fe­bru­ary this year.

Pashu­pati Shumsher Rana for­mally broke the party by reg­is­ter­ing Ras­triya Pra­jatantra Party (Demo­cratic) in the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion on Sun­day. Of the to­tal 153 CWC mem­bers, 72 have sup­ported Rana while of the 37 law­mak­ers 22 have joined Rana's new party.

The RPP cre­ated by uni­fy­ing Ka­mal Thapa-led Ras­triya Pra­jatantra Party-Nepal and Pashu­pati Shumsher Rana-led Ras­triya Pra­jatantra Party was mired in dis­putes due to the work­ing style and op­por­tunist be­hav­iour of party chair­man Ka­mal Thapa right from the day Thapa was elected to the top post. In the CA elec­tions 2013, RPP-N had won 25 seats but now only 15 of them are with Ka­mal Thapa. This is why Rana on Mon­day claimed that his was the main­stream RPP.

Thapa has ac­cused the for­mer king Gya­nen­dra and Nepali Congress of caus­ing the divi­sion in the party.

How­ever, a few lead­ers of Thapa-led RPP have pointed their fin­gers at In­dia for the split. They said the party was united at the In­dian in­struc­tion to en­dorse the con­sti­tu­tion amend­ment bill and was di­vided due to un­sta­ble ac­tiv­i­ties of chair­man Thapa.

Ka­mal Thapa's RPP-N had won the 25 seats in the CA elec­tions due to his party's pro-Hindu and pro-monar­chy slo­gans but he grad­u­ally gave up them.

His na­tion­al­ist pos­ture which he gained while serv­ing as Deputy Prime Min­is­ter in the KP Oli-led gov­ern­ment faded away when he joined the Pushpa Ka­mal Da­halled gov­ern­ment formed by pulling down the Oli-led gov­ern­ment.

More­over, Thapa stood in favour of the con­sti­tu­tion amend­ment bill which irked many of the RPP law­mak­ers. Dr Prakash Chandra Lo­hani quit the RPP within a month of its unity and formed a new pro-Hindu party in March. Now with Rana form­ing new RPP (D), Ka­mal Thapa –led RPP has lost its sta­tus of the fourth largest party in the par­lia­ment.

The CWC mem­bers, who de­fected from RPP to sup­port Rana, in­clude Deepak Bo­hara, Sunil Thapa, Bikram Pandey, Ram Ku­mar Subba, Nabaraj Subedi, Hari Ba­hadur Bas­net, Dhurba Ba­hadur Prad­han, Ram Chandra Raya and oth­ers. These lead­ers have blamed Thapa for the split stat­ing that he com­pro­mised on the party's main ide­ol­ogy — Hin­duism and monar­chy, which was po­lit­i­cal dis­hon­esty.

They also ac­cused Thapa of pro­mot­ing nepo­tism and favouritism in the party.

“Due to his op­por­tunist be­hav­iour the party suf­fered se­ri­ous set­back in the lo­cal level polls,” they ar­gued. Of six deputy chair­per­sons of the RPP, three had sup­ported Rana; two gen­eral sec­re­taries and the deputy par­lia­men­tary party leader sup­ported Rana.

The law­mak­ers who joined the Rana in­cluded Anaandi Pant, Bi­raj Bista, Sita Lui­tel, Kamaldevi Sharma Dhano Ma­hara, Ra­jesh­wori Devi, Re­sham Ba­hadur Lama, Sayen­dra Bantawa, Deepak Bo­hora, Ramesh Ku­mar Lama, Saroj Sharma, Sunil Ba­hadur Thapa, Geeta Singh, Ram Ku­mar Subba, Lila Devi Shrestha, Babina Mok­tan, Ish­tiak Ahamad Khan, Bikram Pande, Ra­jya Laxmi Shrestha and Laxmi Thapa. Of these, 10 law­mak­ers had gone miss­ing when the gov­ern­ment had pre­pared to ta­ble the controversial con­sti­tu­tion amend­ment bill for vot­ing in June.

These 10 law­mak­ers had foiled the plan of the Da­halled gov­ern­ment to en­dorse the amend­ment bill with­out re­ceiv­ing sup­port from the CPNUML.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nepal

© PressReader. All rights reserved.