Women’s league com­pe­ti­tion kicks off

Auckland City Harbour News - - NEWS -

The Lotto NRFL Women’s Premier League com­pe­ti­tion will kick off on April 7 with a brand new look.

Twelve foot­ball teams are set to bat­tle it out over two phases to find this year’s cham­pion.

Each team will face off against each other in an 11-match open­ing round be­fore the league splits into the top six and bot­tom six team phases for the fi­nal five weeks.

Points earned from the first round will be car­ried through into the sec­ond phase for both tiers.

The team fin­ish­ing at the head of the top six will be crowned this year’s cham­pi­ons.

Auck­land Foot­ball op­er­a­tions man­ager Don Manase says the new for­mat will max­imise this sea­son’s level of com­pe­ti­tion at both ends of the table.

The league in­cludes three new sides for the 2013 sea­son. For­rest Hill Mil­ford United AFC is joined by 2012 AFF/NFF Con­fer­ence clubs Pa­pakura City FC and Pa­p­a­toe­toe AFC as well as the newly named Bay of Plenty for­merly known as Pa­pamoa FC.

Western Springs AFC will open its cam­paign on April 7 with a match against reign­ing cham­pi­ons Claude­lands Rovers, while Three Kings United take on Bay of Plenty.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.