So much achieve­ment and sup­port

Auckland City Harbour News - - NEWS -

The Waitem­ata Good Cit­i­zen Awards recog­nise the of­ten un­no­ticed efforts of vol­un­teers who sup­port in­di­vid­u­als and com­mu­ni­ties within the Waitem­ata Lo­cal Board area. The awards are di­vided into three cat­e­gories: In­di­vid­ual award, youth award for those 24 years and un­der and the com­mu­nity group award for con­tri­bu­tions made by lo­cal groups. In­di­vid­ual Award

Sam Judd – Sus­tain­able Coast­lines

The co-founder and chief ex­ec­u­tive of the Eden Ter­race-based char­ity that is ded­i­cated to clean­ing up the coast­lines here and in the Pa­cific

Al­lan Mat­son – Civic Trust Auck­land

Mr Mat­son works on her­itage mat­ters both as an in­di­vid­ual and in sup­port of other groups to pro­tect built her­itage in the Waitem­ata Lo­cal Board area

Peter Meads – Grafton United Cricket Club

Mr Meads has been been trea­surer and fi­nan­cial ad­viser at Grafton United Cricket Club for the last 10 years

Mar­cel de Witte – Hawke Sea Scout Hall

Mr de Witte has raised more than $800,000 and de­voted many hours of time over the last three years to man­age the restora­tion of the Herne Bay Scout Hall

Divesh Ku­mar – Rich­mond Rovers Rugby League Club

Awarded for al­ways go­ing ‘‘over and above’’ his role sup­port­ing schools and sports teams

Alex Lan­ning – Ad­vice Bu­reau

Mr Lan­ning has been a volunteer in­ter­viewer at the Grey Lynn/Pon­sonby branch

Cit­i­zens of the Cit­i­zens Ad­vice Bu­reau, car­ry­ing out a weekly four hour duty, for more than 20 years

Audrey van Ryn – CBD Res­i­dents Ad­vi­sory Group

A found­ing mem­ber of the CBD Res­i­dents Ad­vi­sory Group, edi­tor of the group’s e-news­let­ter, vice pres­i­dent of Civic Trust Auck­land

Soala Wil­son – Grey Lynn Busi­ness As­so­ci­a­tion

Grey Lynn res­i­dent and mem­ber of the Grey Lynn Busi­ness As­so­ci­a­tion, Ms Wil­son helped achieve the ‘‘Grey Lynn Adopts Samoa’’ cam­paign dur­ing the Rugby World Cup 2011. Youth Award An­to­nia Hunt – Youth­line Ms Hunt be­gan vol­un­teer­ing with Youth­line when she was 20-years-old tak­ing calls and an­swer­ing texts and emails. A ‘‘per­fect role model to all young peo­ple’’. Com­mu­nity Group Award

Art in the Dark – Celia Har­ri­son. Ms Har­ri­son founded the Art in the Dark fes­ti­val in 2008 to pro­vide a free com­mu­nity fes­ti­val for no gain

Cit­i­zens Ad­vice Bu­reau – Grey Lynn/Pon­sonby Award Peter Klein Cather­ine L’Es­trange Carol Ann Priest Gor­don Macfar­lane Alec Meleisea

Grey Lynn Park Fes­ti­val Trust – Hans Heu­mann

Mr Heu­mann has been the main or­gan­iser of the fes­ti­val for a num­ber of years

Grey Lynn 2030 Trust – Suzanne Ken­drick

Grey Lynn 2030 is a lo­cal re­sponse to the ideas of the Tran­si­tion towns move­ment. Long Ser­vice to Com­mu­nity

Audrey Evans – Pon­sonby com­mu­nity ac­tivist and volunteer for over 30 years.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.