League’s first in­ductees in Hall of Fame

Auckland City Harbour News - - SPORT - By TOM CARNEGIE

Auck­land Rugby League in­ducted its first group of sport­ing leg­ends into the ARL Hall of Fame on April 8.

The in­au­gu­ral six in­ductees were Frank Delgrosso, Ron Ack­land, Tony Kriletich, Roger Bai­ley, Den­nis Wil­liams and Owen Wright.

The cer­e­mony, which took place at Alexan­dra Park, dou­bled as the launch of the 2015 Ap­pli­ance Shed Fox Me­mo­rial sea­son.

Delgrosso, Kriletic and Bai­ley all be­longed to Auck­land in­ner city clubs and had out­stand­ing ca­reers for both the Auck­land rep­re­sen­ta­tive team and the New Zealand Ki­wis.

Through the 1960s and 1970s Bai­ley was the star of the Auck­land league scene.

He won three Fox Me­mo­rial fi­nals with the Pon­sonby Ponies in 1967, 1972 and 1973.

A stoic cap­tain of the Ponies side for many years, he was also a regular cap­tain of Auck­land.

Bai­ley played 75 games for the Ki­wis and is a mem­ber of the NZRL Team of the Cen­tury.

Delgrosso played 11 sea­sons for the Pon­sonby Ponies be­tween 1919-1930, win­ning four Auck­land Pre­mier­ships in 1919, 1926, 1929 and 1930.

He also forged a suc­cess­ful 10-year ca­reer with Auck­land be­tween 1919 and 1929. He would go on to play nine matches for his coun­try, scor­ing three tries and kick­ing nine goals.

Kriletich played 11 sea­sons with the Marist Saints, and ap­peared in three Fox Me­mo­rial fi­nals in 1965, 1966 and 1969, win­ning ti­tles in the first two.

Be­tween 1967 and 1972 Kriletich played 22 con­sec­u­tive matches for the Ki­wis. In 1971 he be­came part of his­tory as part of the first ever Ki­wis side to beat Great Bri­tain on UK soil.

A se­lec­tion panel con­tain­ing John Ack­land, ARL pres­i­dent Gary Whit­tle, ARL life mem­ber Ray Cranch and vet­eran broad­caster Allen McLaugh­lin spent over a year work­ing on the in­au­gu­ral in­duc­tion group.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.