Sea­son ends for Bush Net­ball play­ers

Bush Telegraph - - FOCUS ON FARMING - By HOLLY SWANSSON Bush Net­ball Club chair­woman

An­other great sea­son is over for the 2018 Bush Net­ball Club.

We al­ways have a themed prize­giv­ing — this year it was Hol­ly­wood but very broad. Usu­ally the teams dress up to­gether.

Tri­als were held over two nights in March which ended with five teams in the Manawatu¯ Cof­fee Club Net­ball Com­pe­ti­tion. This sea­son some teams were plagued with in­juries and bat­tled to get on court Satur­days.

The best re­sult was the Bush So­cial Team fin­ish­ing third in their grade.

Coaches were: Christa Welch, Karen Thomas, Mel Bolton, and Robyn Hanks.

Prize­giv­ing was held at Apache Jacks on Au­gust 25 and mem­bers re­ceived spe­cial recog­ni­tion:

Bush A1: Most Out­stand­ing — Har­riet Wil­son. Most Ded­i­cated: Paula New­man. Most Im­proved: Olivia Bryant.

Bush Old Girls: Most Out­stand­ing — Sera Bryne. Most Ded­i­cated: Robyn Hanks. Most Im­proved: Kylie McNaughton.

Bush A2: Most Out­stand­ing — Sa­man­tha Bran­don. Most Ded­i­cated: Laura Pyne. Most Im­proved: Jade Valler.

Bush A3: Most Out­stand­ing — Michelle Christie. Most Ded­i­cated: Rachel Mur­phy. Most Im­proved: Emma Ed­wards.

Bush So­cial: Most Out­stand­ing — Anne Cooper. Most Ded­i­cated: Joanne Oliver. Most Im­proved: Bridgitte Walls. Team Sports­man­ship: Gabrielle Mud­ford.

A new Club Cap­tain Cup was in­tro­duced to recog­nise out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to Bush Net­ball and the re­cip­i­ent is cho­sen by the Club Cap­tain, do­nated by Julie Hoff­man. The re­cip­i­ent this year was Erica Glee­son. Con­grat­u­la­tions to ev­ery­one.

This year we were also in­volved in the Bush Club day and man­aged to have the A2s and A3 teams play their club games at the turf here in Pahiatua.

And to ev­ery­one — keep in touch via our Face­book page Bush Net­ball Club. The com­mit­tee will con­tinue to post up­dates on any­thing net­ball-re­lated dur­ing the off sea­son. Look­ing for­ward to see­ing ev­ery­one back for in 2019!

The A3 Net­ball team.

THE so­cial net­ball team.

Bush So­cial Tro­phy Win­ners — from left are Gabrielle Mud­ford, Brid­gette Walls, Anne Cooper and Joanne Oliver.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.