Sides share Team of the Year ti­tle

Central Leader - - Lifestyles - By Jeremy Ruane

The achieve­ments of the Lyn­nAvon United and West­ern Springs women’s foot­ball sides were in­sep­a­ra­ble when de­cid­ing the 2008 Cen­tral Leader Team of the Year award.

As a re­sult they will share the tro­phy over the next year for six months each.

Springs edged out Lyn­nAvon in the ti­tle race, beat­ing them twice dur­ing the sea­son to take out their first North­ern Premier Women’s League cham­pi­onship.

But Lynn-Avon thrashed Christchurch-based West­ern 6-2 in the Na­tional Women’s Knock­out Cup in Septem­ber, af­ter tak­ing out West­ern Springs 1-0 in the semi.

Both sides had a num­ber of play­ers at the Olympics and in the women’s Un­der-17 World Cup squads.

Cen­tral United men, last sea­son’s North­ern Premier League and Chatham Cup win­ners, fin­ished a close-run third for the award.

Their quar­ter-fi­nal demise in the Chatham Cup de­nied them the chance of winning the award for a sec­ond sea­son run­ning.

Cen­tral’s im­pres­sive league cam­paign saw them en­dure a pun­ish­ing sched­ule in Au­gust to over­haul leaders East­ern Sub­urbs with a game to spare.

They were also the only team in the coun­try to score 100 goals in league and cup action.

Hard on their heels was the Lynn-Avon men’s team who fin­ished third in the premier league, af­ter winning the first divi­sion ti­tle last sea­son.

Bay Olympic and One­hunga Sports both had mid-ta­ble fin­ishes, while Metro put to­gether a feisty run late in the cam­paign to stave off the threat of rel­e­ga­tion.

Part of the rea­son for Metro’s suc­cess was striker Sean Devine tak­ing out the ti­tle of the league’s lead­ing scorer, with 23 goals.

Un­for­tu­nately not all lo­cal teams tasted suc­cess, with Mt Al­bert-Pon­sonby and Three Kings join­ing West­ern Springs and One­hunga-Man­gere in next sea­son’s first divi­sion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.