Ad­ven­ture rac­ers vie for hon­ours

Central Otago Mirror - - SPORT - By EMMA DAWE

Team Sea­gate showed why it’s the cur­rent world cham­pion ad­ven­ture rac­ing team, blitz­ing the field in the Cen­tral Otago 24-hour ad­ven­ture race held in and around Cromwell dur­ing the weekend. The team of Nathan Fa’avae, So­phie Hart, Trevor Voyce, all from Nel­son and Dou­gal Al­lan from Wanaka, who was stand­ing in for Chris Forne from Christchurch, fin­ished the race in 15hr 22min, two and a half hours ahead of its near­est ri­vals. The event was the team’s last train­ing run be­fore it heads to Costa Rica to com­pete in the world ad­ven­ture rac­ing cham­pi­onships. The weekend’s event was or­gan­ised by the South­ern Lakes Mul­ti­sport Club and was in its fourth year. Race di­rec­tor Gavin Ma­son from Wanaka said num­bers were up slightly on last year, with 23 teams en­tered in the 24-hour event and nine teams in the 12-hour event. It was pleas­ing to see sev­eral school teams en­ter, as one of the rea­sons the club or­gan­ised the event was to get younger peo­ple in­volved in the sport, Mr Ma­son said. Com­peti­tors had to trek, moun­tain­bike and kayak their way around a course, pass­ing through check­points along the way. An ab­seil­ing com­po­nent was also in­cluded in the course. Teams only found out at the race brief­ing what the course was, so only had a cou­ple of hours to plan their route, he said. ‘‘Ev­ery­one has good sto­ries to tell about where they ended up.’’ The Cromwell Col­lege team of Luke Holden, Carter McAuliffe, Te­gan Buchanan and Emma Pat­ton won the 12-hour race. The team fin­ished fifth at this year’s New Zealand Sec­ondary Schools’ event.


Tri­umphant: The vic­to­ri­ous New Zealand South­ern Knights Pee Wees. Pic­tured, back row from left: Har­ri­son Mills (cap­tain), Char­lie Lilly, man­ager Caro­line Lilly, Rhet Wil­son (goalie), Ben Miller (most val­ued player), coach Nick Flight , Chris­tian Re­gan, man­ager Elis­a­beth Re­gan, Bil­lie Sheard and Ol­lie Gil­mour. Front row, Car­lin Baum­gart­ner, Taz Hall, Heath Pankhurst, Alexan­der Re­gan (best de­fence award) Lachie Miller and Jack­son Flight.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.