New Cen­tral Otago coun­cil sworn in


‘‘The may­oral chains sym­bol­ise the for­mal­ity, re­spon­si­bil­ity and ac­count­abil­ity of the of­fice and the pub­lic ser­vice as­so­ci­ated.’’

Cen­tral Otago’s new mayor has been pre­sented with his may­oral chains and of­fi­cially sworn in.

Tim Cado­gan was the first to take the oath of of­fice at the coun­cil’s in­au­gu­ral meet­ing.

The meeet­ing was at­tended by fam­ily and friends in Alexandra on Wed­nes­day.

Chief ex­ec­u­tive Leanne Mash pre­sented Cado­gan with the may­oral chains.

She said the chains ‘‘sym­bol­ise the for­mal­ity, re­spon­si­bil­ity and ac­count­abil­ity of the of­fice and the pub­lic ser­vice as­so­ci­ated’’.

Cado­gan was fol­lowed by Neil Gille­spie who took the deputy mayor po­si­tion.

The an­nual re­port was also adopted at the meet­ing.

It showed $5.6 mil­lion more rev­enue for the 2015-16 fi­nan­cial year than ex­pected.

Gille­spie said it was a ‘‘damn fine re­sult’’.

He ac­knowl­edged the con­tri­bu­tion of for­mer mayor Tony Lep­per.

‘‘With­out any dis­re­spect to the cur­rent mayor, we should ac­knowl­edge the lead­er­ship of the pre­vi­ous mayor achiev­ing that re­sult and the good work.’’

Cr Martin McPher­son said the qual­ity of the re­port and its pre­sen­ta­tion was easy to digest.

‘‘I have been around a long time and I have seen some real mon­grel an­nual re­ports.

‘‘This one is a wee beauty - I can even make sense of it.’’

Cado­gan also an­nounced the com­mit­tee chair and deputy chairs in­clud­ing:

Three Waters In­fra­struc­ture, chaired by Mal­colm To­pliss, deputy Lyn­ley Clar­idge.

Waste and Prop­erty In­fra­struc­ture, chaired by Nigel McKin­lay, deputy Vic­to­ria Bon­ham.

Road­ing, chaired by Bar­rie Wills, deputy Stu­art Dun­can.

Plan­ning and En­vi­ron­ment, chaired by Neil Gille­spie, deputy Martin McPher­son.

Com­mu­nity Ser­vices, chaired by Stephen Jef­fery, deputy Shirley Calvert.

Au­dit and Risk, Tim Cado­gan, Neil Gille­spie, Nigel McKin­lay and Stephen Jef­fery.

Fund­ing As­sess­ment, chaired by Martin McPher­son; deputy Shirley Calvert.

Emer­gency Man­age­ment, chaired by Tim Cado­gan, deputy Neil Gille­spie.


The new Cen­tral Otago District Coun­cil.

Chief ex­ec­u­tive, Leanne Mash

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.