Frost and Laf­fan back on the podium

Feilding-Rangitikei Herald - - Out & About - GE­ORGE HEAGNEY

There were 326 en­trants across the var­i­ous events, up 20 per cent from last year.

The Trevor Lude­man Cup for three-per­son run teams was won by Feild­ing Moa, with Scott Whit­ley, De­bra Arnold and Pat Stich­bury in the win­ning team.

The Manawatu Strid­ers team of Cush­ing, Jones and Brun­skill won the Leahy Cup for walk­ing teams.

The 21st Roy Lam­ber­ton half marathon was won by Ed­ward Cur­rie of Palmer­ston North in 1:21:04 from Dy­lan Welby (Levin) and Arne Pat­ter­son (Palmer­ston North).

Wilma Min­nee of Palmer­ston North won the women’s race in 1:40:10 from Brid­get Har­ris (Wan­ganui) and Joanne Shor­tall (Feild­ing).

The half marathon walks were won by Taranaki vis­i­tors, Alan Clarke in 2:18:26 and Sher­ryn Hardy 2:24:32.

The 10km run was a win to 15-year-old Palmer­ston North ath­lete Ben­jamin Wall in 37:20 from An­gus McKelvie 38:12.

McKelvie shad­owed Wall for the first 5-6km un­til the pace stepped up and Wall was able to ex­tend a healthy lead.

Brenda Cuff (Palmer­ston North) won the women’s 10km in 48:04 from Sarah Dav­i­son and Han­nah Col­liver (Bulls).

The walks went to Manawatu¯ Strid­ers mem­bers Evan Davies in 1:07:55 and Dar­ryl James 1:09:46.

The clos­est fin­ish of the day came in the 5km race, where Jimmy Elling­ham edged out Liam Wall by three sec­onds in 18:54.

Bella Ives won the women’s race in 22:34.


Three-time Feild­ing Marathon win­ner Carl Laf­fan from Welling­ton pow­ers his way through the course on Satur­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.