Auck­land Su­per City in a nut­shell

Franklin County News - - Front Page -

Lo­cal Coun­cil).

Two coun­cil­lors will be voted by peo­ple on the Maori elec­toral role. One will be ap­pointed by mana whenua.

The rest of the Auck­land coun­cil­lors will be elected at large.

Bound­aries for Auck­land re­gion un­changed ex­cept for the south. Area cur­rently in Waikato re­gion north of Waikato River, in­clud­ing Tuakau, Po­keno and Mercer to be in­cluded in Auck­land Coun­cil.

Parts of Franklin District out­side the new Auck­land Coun­cil, in­clud­ing Onewhero, Port Waikato and Ka­iaua trans­ferred to Waikato District.

Hunua Lo­cal Coun­cil to be formed from the old Franklin District Coun­cil, which will in­clude Cleve­don, Ard­more and Drury and ex­clude ar­eas in cur- rent Franklin District south of Waikato River.

Es­ti­mated pop­u­la­tion of Hunua Lo­cal Coun­cil will be 73,000.

Hunua Lo­cal Coun­cil will be served by seven coun­cil­lors, six elected from three wards and a lo­cal coun­cil chair.

There will be one long-term coun­cil com­mu­nity plan, one spa­tial plan, one district plan, one rat­ing sys­tem and one rates bill for the whole of Auck­land Coun­cil.

Lo­cal coun­cils will have spec­i­fied gov­er­nance re­spon­si­bil­i­ties, but they will be part of Auck­land Coun­cil and will be sub­sidiary and ac­count­able to the gov­ern­ing body of the Auck­land Coun­cil.

Changes to be made by Oc­to­ber 2010.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.