Roke tro­phy finds a new home

Franklin County News - - SPORT -

Coun­ties Polocrosse has bro­ken Pu­taruru Ti­rau Polocrosse Club’s nine-year stran­gle­hold on the Roke Tro­phy.

Coun­ties won the Roke tro­phy af­ter pip­ping Pu­taruru Ti­rau 18-17 in the fi­nal of The Roke and Rock­wood New Zealand Polocrosse Club Cham­pi­onships at Toko­roa re­cently.

Pu­taruru Ti­rau were look­ing to claim their 10th straight ti­tle.

The Roke Tro­phy is the Club A grade teams’ cham­pi­onship and the Rock­wood Tro­phy is the B grade teams’ cham­pi­onship.

Coun­ties Polocrosse Club had teams in both the Roke and the Rock­wood com­pe­ti­tions.

The Coun­ties Roke team of Ja­son White, Leroy Jolly, Beau Moore, Jar­rod Richard­son, Seb McCracken, Martin White were coached by Er­rol Gloyn.

Coun­ties went down in the first two chukkas by three goals and by the fourth chukka were down by four goals.

They came back to level the game in the last chukka, and then pulled it out to win by one goal.

Jar­rod Richard­son was awarded the best num­ber one for the tour­na­ment.

Richard­son was also awarded the Denny Thomp­son Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for the best horse (Lucky) and rider com­bi­na­tion.

Martin White was awarded the best Aus­tralian stock horse (Larnie) of the tour­na­ment. The Rock­wood team fin­ished third.


The Coun­ties Polocrosse roke team Martin White, left, Jar­rod Richard­son, Beau Moore, Ja­son White, Leroy Jolly, Seb McCracken, and Coach Er­rol Gloyn.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.