A new Dunedin eatery in a restored historic building
A HISTORIC DUNEDIN BUILDING MAKES A CHARMING COMEBACK.
From the street outside a Renaissance revival building in Dunedin where The Standard Kitchen has set up shop, you can see through light we`lls to the stone-walled basement below. Home to a fishmonger in the 1900s, fish was once carried down the holes for cleaning and filleting. Having undergone a sensitive restoration to retain as much original detail as possible, and a two-year process to reinstate the exterior ornamentation alone, the heritage building is now home to the wholefoods café run by Angela Bates and James Roberts, where everything is prepared from scratch, and heritage features star along with the food.
Originally designed by Mason & Wales, New Zealand’s oldest established architectural firm, and completed in 1874, Bates says “the building is quite incredible and we needed to fit in with that. We wanted a lived-in, homely feeling, nothing plastic. We wanted to casual it down a bit.” As “big recyclers”, they worked with the building’s owner, Ted Daniels, to reuse original floorboards that were unsuitable for restoration into tables, which are accompanied by chairs collected during the final year of the four-year restoration. It’s great to see a venerable old building getting such fresh and loving attention.
STANDARD KITCHEN 201 Princes St, Dunedin 03 474 1188
Photography by Guy Frederick. 01—The café features original details, including the wall tiles. 02—Diners with a view onto Princes Street. 03—Some of the building’s floorboards were salvaged to make tables, which are paired with second-hand chairs. 04—Formerly home to an insurance company, fishmonger, and then a Chinese restaurant, a wholefoods café now takes pride of place in this heritage building.