St George ju­niors’ an­nual ac­co­lades

Kapi-Mana News - - SPORT -

More than 120 St George Rugby League Club ju­niors and their par­ents at­tended their prize­giv­ing at Pataka on Au­gust 20, where they could re­flect on an­other suc­cess­ful year among the ju­nior ranks.

St George chair­woman Stella Teariki says the prize­giv­ing, at­tended by Mana MP Kris Faafoi, was a chance to re­flect on the sense of pride and grat­i­tude felt to­wards all those who par­tic­i­pate in run­ning the club.

‘‘[We] are renowned for be­ing family-ori­ented and steeped in many gen­er­a­tions of play­ers.

‘‘The man­ager of the un­der 6s team was say­ing this year how her grand­fa­ther and fa­ther played for the club back in the day and now their mokos are run­ning around in a Dragons jersey. This is a tra­di­tion we hope to carry for­ward for the next gen­er­a­tion.’’

Teariki says they have a num­ber of coaches in their ju­nior ranks, with the knowl­edge and ex­pe­ri­ence of the likes of Tasi Tu’aga and Tony Kemp shining through.

‘‘Ev­ery year we have par­ents who want to step up and make a dif­fer­ence. The coach of the year – Sami Paese – did ex­actly that, with two boys in two dif­fer­ent grades, he started the un­der 9’s till coaches were se­cured there, then con­tin­ued to coach the U10’s for the sea­son and took them to a semi-fi­nal. He bal­anced this with play­ing premier and re­serves [at the se­nior level].’’

Ben Koopu took charge of the un­der-13s this year, guid­ing them to the grand fi­nal. Five play­ers from this team were se­lected for Welling­ton, while nine made Western Bays, good signs for the fu­ture. The un­der 10s, 11s and 12s all made their re­spec­tive semi-fi­nals, with a num­ber of play­ers from these sides mak­ing rep teams.

Player of the year awards went to Sila Fa’avae – un­der 6s, Tipene Bishop and Afaese Fa’avae – un­der 7s, Jacob Fi­fita – un­der 9s, Blaine Betham- Taape – un­der 10s, Eli Moataa and Sime Luafalealo – un­der 11s, Lua­mafale Lualua – un­der 12s, Bran­don Naera and Bryson Filipo – un­der 13s and Lopati Soa­gia – un­der 15s.

Kazzeus Rua­poroN­gat­u­akana, Jerico Koia, Bradley Crich­ton, Julius Seuala, Qwin­tyn Ben­nett-Thomas, Andrew Phillips, Dante Laulu, Bai­ley Silva and Paris Ariu all re­ceived most im­proved player ac­co­lades in their re­spec­tive teams.

Along with Sami Paese’s coach of the year award, team of the year honours went to the un­der13 side, while He­lanie Kemp was named man­ager of 2011.

Team of the year: St George RL Club’s un­der 13 side was given the team of the year ac­co­lade at the re­cent club prize­giv­ing.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.