Plim­mer­ton wins an­nual con­test

Kapi-Mana News - - SPORT -

Plim­mer­ton Cro­quet Club has again won the Paekakariki Vase, a tro­phy with a rich his­tory in Kapiti.

The tro­phy was claimed on March 2 by Plim­mer­ton’s Tom and Bev­er­ley Ber­ry­man, Graeme Fisher, Carolyn Rait, Robin Ch­ester­field, John de Roo and Mur­ray Cain.

It was the eighth time in 16 com­pe­ti­tion years the tro­phy has been won by Plim­mer­ton in its an­nual chal­lenge to Para­pa­raumu and Waikanae.

The Paekakariki Cup was pre­sented to the Paekakariki club by G.C. Sher­wood in 1940.

The club dis­banded, and the cup re­mained un­claimed un­til 1947, when it was re­named, more ap­pro­pri­ately, the Paekakariki Vase and was re-pre­sented by Ash­ley Heenan and Robin Hogg for a chal­lenge be­tween the Kapiti Clubs of Waikanae, Para­pa­raumu and Plim­mer­ton.

Win­ning moves: Plim­mer­ton Cro­quet Club’s Wendy Bet­teridge, of Cam­borne, lines up her killer shot in the Paekakariki Vase chal­lenge ear­lier this month.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.