Tawa pupils recog­nised


Cit­i­zen­ship awards have been handed out to nine Tawa pri­mary school pupils for their con­tri­bu­tion to their school and com­mu­nity.

The Tawa Pri­mary Schools’ Cit­i­zen­ship Awards, spon­sored by the Tawa Com­mu­nity Board, were held in the Tawa Col­lege staffroom on Novem­ber 22.

Six pri­mary schools plus the in­ter­me­di­ate were rep­re­sented, with six year 6 stu­dents and three year 8 stu­dents be­ing pre­sented with awards by Welling­ton mayor Justin Lester for dis­play­ing ‘‘true lead­er­ship, cit­i­zen­ship and con­tri­bu­tions to school life’’.

They were given to Tea­gan Popata (Tawa In­ter­me­di­ate), Zoe Cam (Lin­den School), Ai­lani Pe­nese (Tawa School), Vanessa Opie (Hamp­ton Hill School), Bri­ana Trew­ern (Red­wood School), Luke McNair-Robert­son (Greenacres School), Kaela Allen Mait­land (Tawa School), and Rachel Hewett (St Fran­cis Xavier School).

Also pre­sent­ing the awards were North­ern ward coun­cil­lors Mal­colm Spar­row and Jill Day, along with Tawa Com­mu­nity Board deputy chair­woman Mar­garet Lu­cas. The cer­e­mony in­cluded short speeches by Tawa Col­lege deputy head girl Erin Lock­hart and Lester.

Spar­row said it was very spe­cial hav­ing Lock­hart tak­ing part, as she won one of the first cit­i­zen­ship awards in 2011 when she was at Tawa In­ter­me­di­ate.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.