Hur­ri­cane Dane gets top gong at awards


‘‘Coles be­came the first to take the top prize twice in the event's 12-year his­tory, after win­ning it in 2013. ’’


Lion’s sports grant: Stevie Ship­man, swim­ming Lotto sport­mak­ers award: Kieran Scar­rett, rugby

Coast­lands Shop­ping Town sports vol­un­teer of the year: Kirsten John­son, swim­ming

Your Cre­ative Plan ad­min­is­tra­tor of the year: El­yse Robert, surf life sav­ing

Street­wise Cof­fee of­fi­cial of the year: Steven Sar­gent, lawn bowls

Pritchard Civil dis­abled ath­lete of the year: Ja­son Dono­van, alpine ski­ing

BeachFMper­son­al­ity of the year: Paul Jones, foot­ball

Mitre 10 Me­gaKapiti coach of the year: JonWin­ter, swim­ming

Un­der­cover Se­crets Lin­gerie sportswom­anof the year: Te Paea Selby-Rickit, net­ball

Lions Club ofKapiti team of the year: NewZealand men’s team pur­suit long track speed skat­ing, ice speed skat­ing

Kapiti Coast Dis­trict Coun­cil club of the year: Para­pa­raumu Beach Golf Club Tall Poppy Leg­end of Sport: Chris­tian Cullen, rugby

Simp­son Gri­er­son sports­man of the year and sportsper­son of the year: Dane Coles, Rugby Hur­ri­canes cap­tain Dane Coles was re­warded for his ti­tlewin­ning sea­son with the top gong at the Pak’nSave Kapiti Sportsper­son of the Year Awards.

Coles was named sportsper­son of the year, to go with the sports­man of the year award he took ear­lier on Tues­day night.

Coles be­came the first to take the top prize twice in the event’s 12-year his­tory, after win­ning it in 2013.

The Para­pa­raumu-born hooker took on the Hur­ri­canes cap­taincy in 2016, fol­low­ing the de­par­ture of 2015 skip­per Con­rad Smith, Ma’a Nonu and oth­ers fol­low­ing that year’s Rugby World Cup.

The Hur­ri­canes took their first Su­per Rugby ti­tle un­der his lead­er­ship, beat­ing the Lions 20-3 at West­pac Sta­dium in the fi­nal.

It was the per­fect way to bounce back after the team fell one step short the pre­vi­ous sea­son, beaten 21-14 by the High­landers on home soil in the fi­nal.

Coles has also been named the 2016 Welling­to­nian, Welling­ton Sports­man and NZ Maori player of the year, and was nom­i­nated for the world player and NZ rugby player of the year awards.

He spoke about how proud he was to be from the Kapiti Coast, and about his on­go­ing re­cov­ery from con­cus­sion-re­lated symp­toms which, along with a calf in­jury, have kept him out of ac­tion since mid-March.

Otaki-raised net­baller Te Paea Selby-Rickit was named sportswoman of the year. The South­ern Steel goal at­tack or goal shoot gained Silver Ferns se­lec­tion last year, mak­ing her de­but against Eng­land in Au­gust.

The New Zealand men’s team pur­suit long track speed skat­ing team, fea­tur­ing Reyon Kay and Peter Michael from Kapiti, was named team of the year. After form­ing last year, the team claimed silver at the world cham­pi­onships in South Korea. The club of the year was the Para­pa­raumu Beach Golf Club. Four of their 10 teams won Welling­ton­wide com­pe­ti­tions, in­clud­ing the premier men’s team com­pe­ti­tion, the Dun­can Cup.

Coach of the year went to Jon Win­ter. The Rau­mati Rap­tors swim­ming club re­cently gained three new na­tional cham­pi­ons and record qual­i­fi­ca­tion for na­tional and re­gional events, in part due to the for­mer Olympian’s in­flu­ence.

For­mer All Black full­back Chris­tian Cullen was named the re­gion’s first Tall Poppy leg­end of sport. Born and raised in Paekakariki, Cullen sits sec­ond on the All Black tryscor­ers’ list.

Upon re­ceiv­ing his award Cullen spoke about how he had re­cently given away his last pair of boots, and about his tran­si­tion from the play­ing field to the com­men­tary box.

In to­tal, 16 awards were given at the event at South­ward Car Mu­seum, in front of a crowd of about 150 peo­ple.

Kapiti Coast Dis­trict Coun­cil­lor John How­son, the event’s guest speaker, re­counted his ex­pe­ri­ences in sports broad­cast­ing and high­lighted the chang­ing na­ture of the in­dus­try, while Beach FM’s Nigel Hop­kins MC’d the event.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.