Young achiev­ers win recog­ni­tion


The hard work of some of Porirua’s young achiev­ers was recog­nised at the an­nual Porirua Youth Awards cer­e­mony at Pataka last Thurs­day.

This year’s win­ners were: Abby McRoberts, Nico Hack­ner and Austen Rangi (ed­u­ca­tion), Tyla Ahern and Katie Daly (en­vi­ron­ment and com­mu­nity), Ben Sawrey (art and cul­ture) and Lyric Faleafaga, Cam­den Feint and Ko¯tuku Ruki (sport).

Rangi, Daly, Sawrey and Faleafaga re­ceived ex­cel­lence awards while McRoberts, Hack­ner, Ahern, Feint and Ruki were com­mended for their achieve­ments.

Hekia Parata es­tab­lished the Porirua Youth Awards in 2010, in col­lab­o­ra­tion with Part­ners Porirua and the Porirua Foun­da­tion.

Re­cip­i­ents, cur­rently in Years 9 to 13, can re­ceive up to $1500 to be put to­wards fur­ther study or other goals.

Youth par­tic­i­pat­ing and lead­ing cul­ture, arts, ed­u­ca­tion, en­vi­ron­ment, com­mu­nity work and sport fields fea­ture in the awards each year.

Close to 30 ap­pli­ca­tions were re­ceived.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.