Matamata Chronicle - - Sport -

The Hin­uera team of Stu Set­tle, Bruce Milne and Fay Set­tle won the Waikato Open Mixed Triples played over the week­end of Fe­bru­ary 5 and 6, de­feat­ing the Frank­ton Rail­way team.

The win gave Bruce Milne a bar to his gold star.

A Mixed Clas­sic Tour­na­ment spon­sored by Jo-Anne Prevett and the Broad­way Fu­neral Home was played on Fe­bru­ary 10. At the con­clu­sion of play the win­ning team was: B Mot­ley, B Grice, S Ma­jor and J Wells with 5 wins, 32 ends and 58 points.

Run­ners-up were: I Reid, B Tay­lor, A De Haas and M Christie with 4 wins, 32 ends and 51 points.

The Men’s Cham­pi­onship Sin­gles were played over two week­ends. Ten com­peti­tors en­tered and af­ter some hard­fought matches through­out the sub­se­quent rounds the fi­nal was played be­tween Bruce Milne with two lives and Stu Set­tle with one life.

Set­tle played pre­ci­sion bowls through­out the two games to over­whelm Milne to take the Mens’ Sin­gles Cham­pi­onship. Men’s Champ Fours. Re­sults as fol­lows: Round One: John Van der Hulst, Brian Clark, Neil Jack­son and Geoff Hayes def Rod Morris, Mal Julius, Ray Wymer and John Quin­lan. Ewan Hope, Cal­lan McGrath, Sel­wyn Tap­pin and Sefton Begovich def Ian Madill, Snow Swney, Ger­rit Setz and Phil Smith. Win­ston Hill, John Fol­lows, Ian Shearman and Noel Rior­dan def Ian Reed, Bill Shilton, Trevor Mudg­way and Mur­ray Davis. Wayne Rogers, Wayne Smith, John Robb and Ivan An­der­son a bye.

Round Two: Morris def Madill, Rogers def Hill, Hope def Van der Hulst, Reed a bye.

Round Three: Morris def Van der Hulst, Rogers def Reed, Hope a bye.

Round Four: Reed def Morris, Hope def Rogers.

Round Five: Hope def Reed, Rogers a bye.

In what was to be­come the fi­nal Ewan Hope, Cal­lan McGrath, Sel­wyn Tap­pin and Sefton Begovich with two lives in­tact de­feated Wayne Rogers, Wayne Smith, John Robb and Ivan An­der­son.

Steady and more con­sis­tency from Hope’s team saw them pre­vail on the day. Congratulations to the win­ners and con­tinue the good play in the up­com­ing Cham­pion of Cham­pi­ons fours. Adrian Van Mil tied with Te Awa­mutu 38 hoops.

B Grade June Tarry and Mar­garet Vin­cent had a con­vinc­ing win with 37 hoops to 24.

The club is very busy with both codes try­ing to com­plete club cham­pi­onships. Wai­tangi Week­end saw two mem­bers travel to Whanga­mata and do very well. Irena Baker was run­ner-up in the ju­nior sec­tion and Don Os­borne won the C Grade.

Satur­day Fe­bru­ary 12 was round two of the Sum­mer Cup and some great scor­ing means it is all wide open for next week’s fi­nale.

In the day’s scram­ble Blair Rogers topped the ta­ble with a 65 nett, earn­ing the Robert Har­ris Voucher and four balls. There were four more for Bill Wil­son’s 66 and three each for the 67s from Ger­ard Ca­vanagh, Jay­den Lunn and John Stod­dart. Two balls then for net 68s from Paul Wood, Mau­rice Vosper and Steve Oates, as it was for Mur­ray Ed­ding­ton’s 69 and the 70s from Rex Ma­son and Geoff Hayes, with a ball each also for the 70s from Brent Ste­wart, Steve Kim and one for Jack Trower on 71. There was a two from Mal­colm John­son who picked up four balls and the Chal­lenge Card voucher was picked up by Roger Verry.

This Satur­day is your last round of the Sum­mer Cup. There’s a hat-full of play­ers who can clean up. Come on down from 8.30am and we’ll find out who’ll take out the first cup of the year.

This Satur­day sees the first round of the Sum­mer Cup for the Satur­day ladies while Tues­day Fe­bru­ary 22 is the Ladies’ open­ing day.

The an­nual Wal­ton PGG Wright­sons Mens 36-hole four­somes was held on Satur­day in ex­cel­lent weather. The course was pre­sented by Terry and his team in fan­tas­tic con­di­tion. The 8.30am start for the morn­ing round had the pair­ing of Mike Gar­rud and John Adam­son lead­ing the field with a nett 68 close be­hind was Don Sharp and Mark Begovich with a nett 69. The af­ter­noon round had some ex­cel­lent scor­ing with the even­tu­ally win­ning pair of B Fos­ter and J Mohn shoot­ing a nett 66.5 giv­ing them a to­tal nett of 137. Tied for first was the other pair­ing of P Dar­ragh and M Cowl­rick. The other win­ning pairs were N Dixon and G Hicks, G Pit­con and G Haugh 143, G Bruce and G Wills, E Martinez and W Reynolds, B Snook and K Stan­ners 144. It was a great day and a spe­cial thanks to our spon­sors and all the vis­i­tors that sup­ported the tour­na­ment.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.