Com­mu­nity boards to be phased out in wards

Matamata Chronicle - - Front Page -

The Lo­cal Government Com­mis­sion an­nounced last week they are sup­port­ing Mata­mata-Pi­ako District Coun­cil’s de­ci­sion to dis­es­tab­lish com­mu­nity boards in Mata­mata, Te Aroha and Mor­rinsville from af­ter Oc­to­ber’s lo­cal government elec­tions.

In 2012 coun­cil con­sulted with the com­mu­nity on whether com­mu­nity boards should stay.

Af­ter all 37 sub­mis­sions were con­sid­ered, the de­ci­sion was made to dis­es­tab­lish com­mu­nity boards.

Fol­low­ing an ap­peal, the Lo­cal Government Com­mis­sion held a hear­ing to make the de­ci­sion.

Mata­mata-Pi­ako District Mayor Hugh Ver­coe be­lieves Mata­mataPi­ako res­i­dents will still be well rep­re­sented by their ward coun­cil­lors.

‘‘ Com­mu­nity Boards have achieved some great projects in our com­mu­ni­ties in the past, how­ever, there was a du­pli­ca­tion of elected mem­bers in each ward area, and the elected coun­cil­lors are read­ily ac­ces­si­ble to the com­mu­nity and ac­tively ad­vo­cate for their re­spec­tive wards,’’ he said.

In the Oc­to­ber lo­cal government elec­tions, Mata­mata- Pi­ako res­i­dents will only elect ward coun­cil­lors (11 in to­tal, Mata­mata - 4, Mor­rinsville - 4 and Te Aroha - 3) and a Mayor.

To view the report from the Lo­cal Government Com­mis­sion visit

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.