Club of year gets boost

Matamata Chronicle - - Front Page -

The Mata­mata Am­a­teur Swim­ming Club was awarded Club of the Year at the Mata­mata Pi­ako Dis­trict Sports Awards, held last week at the Mata­mata Me­mo­rial Cen­tre.

The club re­newed its ad­min­is­tra­tion pro­cesses this year which re­sulted in a mem­ber­ship in­crease.

Lo­cal Olympic swim­mer Matthew Stan­ley was awarded Sportsper­son of the Year, fin­ish­ing a year which saw Stan­ley break his own 200m freestyle record in March.

Don Stan­ley, Matthew’s grand­dad, ac­cepted the award on his grand­son’s be­half.

‘‘I’m ex­tremely proud of all my grand chil­dren,’’ he said.

‘‘I’ll pass the award onto Matthew and I think I’ll give the flow­ers to his grand mother.’’

Matthew’s grand­mother Jackie was hugely in­flu­en­tial in de­vel­op­ing him as a swim­mer.

Matthew was un­able to at­tend the awards cer­e­mony as he is train­ing for var­i­ous com­pe­ti­tions and is also one of eight elite ath­letes se­lected to par­tic­i­pate in Ath­lete Life which em­pow­ers ath­lete ca­pa­bil­ity for com­pet­i­tive great­ness.

‘‘I would be very sur­prised if Matthew doesn’t come away from the next Com­mon­wealth Games with a medal,’’ Mr Stan­ley said.

‘‘ He has the com­bi­na­tion of nat­u­ral abil­ity, drive and de­ter­mi­na­tion.’’

As the new Sport Waikato Mata­mata Pi­ako Dis­trict co­or­di­na­tor, Lou Beer was very pleased to see such a great turnout to the

of func­tion from mem­bers com­mu­nity.

‘‘ As the new Dis­trict Co­or­di­na­tor it was very pleas­ing to see the lo­cal Mata­mata Pi­ako com­mu­nity come to­gether to recog­nise, ac­knowl­edge and cel­e­brate dis­trict sport­ing achieve­ment,’’ she said.

Team of the Year was awarded to Reid and Har­ri­son Hin­uera A Cricket team. Stoked team mem­bers Alan Tap­pin and Ja­son Rusk ac­cepted the award.

Win­ners are now con­sid­ered for the Brian Perry Waikato Re­gional Sports Awards on Thurs­day Jan­uary 30, 2014 at Claude­lands Event Cen­tre, Hamil­ton. 2013 win­ners: Ser­vice to Sport: Donna Arnold,


the Johnathon Brown, Keith Walker

Club of the Year: Mata­mata Am­a­teur Swim­ming Club

Ref­eree / Um­pire of the Year: Dwayne Paul

Ad­min­is­tra­tor of the Year: Kris­tine Ni­cholas

Coach of the Diprose

Team of the Year: Reid and Har­ri­son Hin­uera A Cricket Team

40+ Sportsper­son of the Year: Roseanne Ber­ry­man

Sport­ing Per­son­al­ity Year: Robert He­witt

Ju­nior Sportswoman Year: Tar­ryn Davey

Ju­nior Sports­man of the Year: Bran­don Je­sen

Sportsper­son of Matthew Stan­ley









Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.