Bowls tour­na­ment spread over dis­trict

Matamata Chronicle - - Sport -

A suc­cess­ful bowls tour­na­ment was held across the dis­trict last week, with a num­ber of lo­cal bowl­ing clubs host­ing the 53rd Mata­mata Mens Com­bined Clubs Bowls tour­na­ment.

Teams from all over came to com­pete, in­clud­ing Auck­land, Taranaki and even Australia.

Many teams men­tioned the Aus­tralian team at the tour­na­ment’s prize­giv­ing on Fri­day, with most say­ing they had ‘‘made’’ the tour­na­ment.

Oth­ers com­ple­mented the run­ning of the tour­na­ment, which was held across Mata­mata Bowl­ing Club, Rewa Bowl­ing Club, Hin­uera Bowl­ing Club, Mor­rinsville Bowl­ing Club and Mor­rinsville RSA Bowl­ing Club. Mata­mata RSA also took part but did not host teams this year.


Third flight: Third equal: Rewa: Don Doughty, Joe Keys, Jim Pol­lock and Neil Jack­son; Tui Park: Dave Buchan, Len Hay, Stan Sowerby and Tom Hendy. Sec­ond: River­head: Jack Huri­wai, John Tobin, Jim Cor­ric and Gra­ham Mor­gan. First: Ma­nurewa Cos­mopoli­tan: Chris War­ren, Bill Jones, Danny Roberts and John Tukuafu. Sec­ond flight: Third equal: Hin­uera: Be­van Shel­ley, Steve Shel­ley, Jonathon Shel­ley and Mathew Shel­ley; Tau­ranga South: Mike Old­field, Lau­rie Coughey, Trevor Pow­ell and Mike Daysh. Sec­ond: Maun­gat­a­pere: Ian McMurchy, Innes McMillan, Jim Tay­lor and Bruce Clark­son. First: Arawa: Lau­rie McLeay, Neil Black, Les Woods and Fred Clarke.

First flight:

Third equal: Hin­uera: Stu Set­tle, Bruce Milne, John Set­tle and Gor­don Set­tle; Thames: Colin Gaw­ith, Ger­ard Slat­tery, Karl Gar­rett and Colin Dem­ler. Sec­ond: Tau­ranga South: John Simons, Derek Dean, Gor­don Hamil­ton, David Janes/Ian Parker. First: Te Awa­mutu: Terry Os­ment, Larry Fitz­patrick, Bryan Ryburn and John Byett.


OVER­ALL WIN­NERS: Win­ners of the first flight were the Te Awa­mutu team of, from left, Bryan Ryburn (2), Terry Os­ment (S), Larry Fitz­patrick (3) and John Byett (lead).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.