Award Hat-trick for

New Zealand Classic Car - - Nationwide News -

Motorsport New Zealand rec­og­nized the best and bright­est at its re­cent an­nual awards cer­e­mony — held in Welling­ton on May 23. The evening be­gan and ended with emo­tion on stage, as the mo­tor-sport com­mu­nity paid trib­ute to those who have ex­celled on track, and con­trib­uted off it, in the past 12 months.

For Park­side Media and Nzclassiccar mag­a­zine, the awards were some­thing of a hat-trick — with three reg­u­lar con­trib­u­tors to the mag­a­zine walk­ing off with awards.

Terry Mar­shall, who has been pro­vid­ing stun­ning mo­tor-sport im­ages to Nzclassiccar for many years, re­ceived the Pres­i­dent’s Award for the best sin­gle mo­tor-sport shot of the year.

Terry Col­lier was the proud re­cip­i­ent of the Lupp Tro­phy, awarded to those who em­body the very spirit and val­ues as­so­ci­ated with the clas­sic and his­toric-rac­ing move­ment. Terry has writ­ten many fea­tures for Nzclassiccar — his Kiwi Con­nec­tion fea­ture on the Maserati 250F still stands as the de­fin­i­tive history of these iconic rac­ing cars in NZ. Terry was also pre­sented with a Distin­guished Ser­vice Award.

Once again, our very own Mo­tor Man, Donn An­der­son, was rec­og­nized as the Fea­ture Jour­nal­ist of the Year via his July 2014 Mo­tor Man col­umn on Jack Brab­ham.

Also on the clas­sic-car front, well done to NZ Fes­ti­val of Mo­tor­ing chair­man, Jim Bar­clay, who was a de­serv­ing win­ner of the Ron Frost Award.

Other high­lights of the evening in­cluded Karen Pad­don of the South Can­ter­bury Car Club ac­cept­ing the Distin­guished Ser­vice Award for the more than 35 years she has spent work­ing be­hind the scenes to en­sure events in sev­eral cat­e­gories run smoothly.

To close the evening, im­mensely proud fa­ther Bryan Hart­ley ac­cepted NZ’S premier mo­tor-sport award — The Jim Clark Tro­phy — on be­half of his son, Bren­don, who is com­pet­ing as a fac­tory Porsche driver in the pres­ti­gious FIA World En­durance Cham­pi­onship.

Terry Mar­shall’s Pres­i­dent’s Award– win­ning pho­to­graph

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.