New Zealand Classic Car - - SPECIAL FEATURE -

he Monaco Grand Prix (GP) was first run in 1929 around the same street cir­cuit that is still used to this very day. Some won­der­ful and leg­endary cars and drivers from the an­nals of mo­tor rac­ing his­tory have com­peted at what is one of the spir­i­tual homes of mo­tor sport. Louis Ch­i­ron — af­ter who part of the cir­cuit is now named — fin­ished fourth in 1933 in his Alfa Romeo 8C Monza; Stirling Moss, who was in at­ten­dance in the prin­ci­pal­ity 60 years on, was the win­ner in 1956 in his Maserati 250F; and the great Ar­gen­tine Juan-manuel Fan­gio, also driv­ing a 250F, won the fol­low­ing year ahead of Tony Brooks in his Van­wall VW7. Maurice Trintig­nant won in the Cooper T45 in 1958, while Aus­tralian Jack Brab­ham won in 1961 in a Cooper T55 — but such is the na­ture of both sport and life that the next year, when driv­ing a Lo­tus 24, he did not fin­ish, and had the same re­sult again in 1964 driv­ing his own car, the Brab­ham BT7. That was the year that Jim Clark fin­ished fourth in a Lo­tus 25. In 1970, it was a win for Lo­tus, with Jochen Rindt lead­ing the oth­ers home in the Gold Leaf Lo­tus 49. In 1972, it was the turn of Jean-pierre Bel­toise to be the vic­tor in the Marl­boro BRM P160. Five years later, in 1977, Niki Lauda driv­ing a Fer­rari 312 T2 came sec­ond. Then 1979 saw Pa­trick De­pailler fifth in the Ligier JS11, with Car­los Reute­mann mak­ing the podium in third place in his Lo­tus 79.

1750SS Za­gato. This group did not ac­tu­ally race but ran a se­ries of pa­rade laps to ven­er­ate the early pioneers of rac­ing in Monaco such as Louis Ch­i­ron, Tazio Nu­volari, Achille Varzi, and Ru­dolf Carac­ci­ola.

Se­ries B, for pre-1961 front-en­gined F1 GP and For­mula 2 cars, was an evo­ca­tion of the sin­gle-seat rac­ers that ran at Monaco be­tween 1948 and 1960 such as the Cooper Bris­tol and the Maserati 250F, which took the hon­ours in 1956 and 1957 with Moss and Fan­gio be­hind the wheel.

Se­ries C was for front-en­gined sports-rac­ing cars that com­peted at Monaco be­tween 1952 and 1955. A large field was made up of, among oth­ers, Al­lards, Frazer Nash, Fer­rari, As­ton Martin, Maserati, and a hand­ful of won­der­ful C-type Jaguars. In 1959, the Monaco GP was won by a For­mula Ju­nior Stanguellini. The For­mula Ju­nior cars — fea­tur­ing the en­gine at the front and drum brakes — in group D were all built be­tween 1958 and 1960. The 49 en­tries in this very com­pet­i­tive group fea­tured a wide va­ri­ety of mar­ques, in­clud­ing, of course, Stanguelli­nis but also three lovely O.S.C.A. Tipo Js.

Just read the ar­ti­cle in the April is­sue, and thought you might be in­ter­ested in some back­ground around the Mor­ris Ma­rina TC coupé (Edi­tor’s Pick) and the Heat­way Rally.

At that time, I was a young ac­coun­tant with NZMC [New Zealand Mo­tor Cor­po­ra­tion] Ltd, and a car nut like many of the em­ploy­ees. We were launch­ing the Ma­rina, so de­cided it would be a good idea to get An­drew Cowan out with a cou­ple of Mari­nas and Mi­nis to do the event. Gen­eral Fi­nance Ltd was our hire-pur­chase provider,

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.