New Zealand Classic Car - - Nationwide Events - Photos:

the first Otago Sports Car Club en­try to fin­ish, as well as the Alexan­dra Auto Elec­tri­cal Class B tro­phy for two-wheel-drive cars (1301–1600cc). Re­gan Ross and Mar­cus van Klink of Kaik­oura in their Ford Es­cort were sixth. In sev­enth it was 2015 New Zealand Rally cham­pion Ben Hunt and Dy­lan Thom­son in their Subaru Im­preza.

Eighth place over­all went to Barry Mills and Mark Alling­ton in their Hill­man Avenger, who were the first South Otago crew home and the win­ners of the Kerry O’dono­hue Me­mo­rial Tro­phy.

Ninth went to Can­ter­bury’s David Clear­wa­ter and Stephen Lloyd in their Mit­subishi Evo IV, and 10th to the fa­ther and daugh­ter team of David and Emma Quan­tock of Ka­iapoi in their Mit­subishi Evo VII.

Steven Thom­son and his crew from Mos­giel made a big ef­fort to get his dam­aged Dat­sun Sunny coupé re­paired in time for the rally and were re­warded with the Bal­clutha Auto Electrics Class A (0–1300cc) tro­phy.

Ben Hunt of Auck­land won the Val­ley Coach­lines Class D tro­phy for four-wheel-drive cars, and Mur­ray Mar­shall of Kar­tan­gata won the Ritchies Hold­ings Trans­port Hold­ing Class E for pre ’96 four-wheel-drive cars in his Subaru Im­preza, com­ing twelfth over­all. Cur­rent ESCC cham­pion Bren­don Mitchell of Win­ton, with Nigel Law­son, won the Flash­clad Class F for 0–1700cc Clas­sics in their Dat­sun 1600. Re­gan Ross and Mar­cus van Klink took the MV Mo­tors Class G tro­phy for Clas­sics 1701cc and over in their Ford Es­cort.

But not ev­ery­one did so well, de­spite the wake-up call de­liv­ered in the brief­ing for this year’s Catlins rally and ex­ec­u­tive com­mit­tee mem­ber Craig Jes­sop’s tongue-in-cheek com­ment, “Watch out for the ice in stage two and prob­a­bly all other stages!” The con­di­tions were bound to take a toll, and Christchurch driver Dean Buist, seeded fourth, crashed his Ford Es­cort on ice in the last stage, while Shaun Mcmil­lan of Christchurch dropped out with me­chan­i­cal trou­ble in his Subaru, also in the fi­nal stage.

What a rally for the ESCC, cel­e­brat­ing its 60th An­niver­sary this year. With a field just short of 90, in­clud­ing a large line-up of clas­sic cars, this year’s rally was also no­table for the high num­ber of novices start­ing. Next year’s cel­e­brates 50 years of ral­ly­ing in New Zealand, with the South Is­land leg to start in Pic­ton and travel down to In­ver­cargill then back to Dunedin in time for the Otago Rally.

In­deed, this is big year for mo­tor sport in the south, with both the ESCC and the South­land Sports Car Club cel­e­brat­ing 60 years.

1. A great ef­fort from Ari and David Pet­ti­grew from Ran­giora in their BMW 318, for fourth over­all 2. Derek Ayson and Nikita Gib­son pow­er­ing through the slush for a de­served third over­all 3. Rod­ney Lang and John Simp­son of Ran­giora tak­ing it care­fully in

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.