New Zealand Classic Car - - Contents -

Mitchell also scooped up the Most Con­sis­tent Com­peti­tor award for Class-b, and was third in the Club­sport Cham­pi­onship.

Roger Laird won the Gravel Events Tro­phy, and Jenkins the Class-d Cham­pi­onship.

Ev­ery sea­son is very much a fam­ily af­fair for the Laird fam­ily, with Roger’s wife, Karen, win­ning the Class-a Cham­pi­onship and their son, Kevin, of Alexan­dra, the Au­tocross Tro­phy and Sealed Sprint Cup.

Con­tin­u­ing the fam­ily theme, the Goumans of Green­fields, South Otago, with dad Paul, who won the Hard Luck Award for his mishap dur­ing the Mor­ris Sad­dle Hill Climb, which put his Mazda RX-7 on its side, while his son, Scott, won the Ju­nior (un­der-18) Club­sport Cham­pi­onship from Scott Mclaren and James Mor­ris.

Sam Hen­der­son took the New Com­peti­tor Award and shared the Sealed Events Tro­phy with Neville Krammer, of Wal­lace­town. Hen­der­son fin­ished sec­ond over­all in the Club­sport Cham­pi­onship be­hind Kramer, who took out the over­all tro­phy. Hen­der­son’s wife, Brodie,

Win­ning style — Bren­don Mitchell in his Dat­sun 2015–’16–sea­son ESCC Cham­pion (photo: Mark Wal­ton) 2. A piece of New Zealand mo­tor rac­ing his­tory — the Stu­art Spe­cial re­stored a few years ago by the Quertier fam­ily of Gore in time for the ESCC’S 50th an­niver­sary in 2006 and seen here with Ste­wart Quertier (photo: Quin­ton Tay­lor) 3. A New Zealand Rally Ex­treme na­tional ti­tle was achieved when Derek Ayson ran this Mit­subishi Evo, seen here in the South­land Rally in 2006 (photo: Quin­ton Tay­lor) 4. Full chat — Lind­say Tressler com­pet­ing in a Hill­man Avenger with Karen Laird as co-driver in the very first Catlins Rally (photo: Brian Hop­ping) 5. Count­ing the years of ser­vice — years of club ser­vice and ESCC Ladies Cham­pion for some 12 years, Karen Laird was one of three re­cip­i­ents of a Life Mem­ber award (photo: ESCC) 6. Tricky — Tri­umph 2000 hanging out the tail dur­ing an ESCC event (photo: ESCC) who is also Jenkins’ daugh­ter, fi­nally ended Karen Laird’s 12-year reign as the ESCC’S Ladies Cham­pion.

To cel­e­brate the club’s 60th an­niver­sary, a photo com­pe­ti­tion was held, with the theme of cap­tur­ing ‘The Spirit of 60 Years’. The win­ning en­try was from Becky Lad­brook of Fast Ex­po­sure Pho­tog­ra­phy.

Guest speaker for the evening was Paul Mul­lan of Black Magic Me­dia, who spoke of his world­wide ad­ven­tures film­ing. Orig­i­nal ESCC mem­ber Gra­ham ‘GT’ Tay­lor also spoke, and con­grat­u­lated the club on its achieve­ments.

Other win­ners: • Gavin Read of In­ver­cargill —

Mo­torkhana Tro­phy • Jim Mcdon­ald of Gore —

Tokanui Hill­climb Tro­phy • Dean Bond of Bal­clutha —

Rally Chal­lenge Tro­phy • Brigg Hen­der­son of Gore — Mem­ber of the Year (the sec­ond time he has won this award) • Mark Dean of Ernslaw One — Spe­cial Award of Thanks from the ESCC for his com­pany’s sup­port of events.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.