New Zealand Classic Car - - NATIONWIDE EVENTS -

CHAL­LENGE 1. Derek Ayson / Gavin Mcder­mott (Ford Es­cort MKII FJ20) Ed Mul­li­gan / Tony Bran­don (BMW E30 325i) Brodie An­der­son / Brad Lyons (Ford Es­cort MKII) 2. 3. over­all win­ners Evans and Wil­liams in their Evans-built (No. 5) RS1800 Es­cort De­fend­ing rally ti­tle-holder Vince Bris­tow and co-driver Tim Sayer were plagued by gear­box and driv­e­line is­sues in Bris­tow’s hard-driven (No. 1) RS1800 Ford Mus­tang (No. 41) of ex­pat-kiwi War­ren Briggs and Gerry Bash­ford was a wel­come change from MKII Ford Es­corts Win­ners of the Chal­lenge class, run con­cur­rently, were Derek Ayson and co-driver Gavin Mcder­mott in Ayson’s Nis­san-en­gined No. 30 Ford Es­cort One of only two non-es­corts in the fi­nal top 10 was the Al­lan Dip­pie / Paul Coghill (No. 9) Porsche 911S, which fin­ished third Hus­band and wife pair Brian and Anne Stokes (No. 3 MKII Ford Es­cort RS1800) were a se­ri­ous over­all threat be­fore be­ing slowed by off-road ex­cur­sions.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.